Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Case 8.2.2 Situation E
RULING: Since the runner has initiated action to return, the defense must tag him unless it is a force play, in which case all they would need to do is touch the base with the ball.
Wouldn't my above post constitute a force play?
|
Because for the sake of a force play, once the runner passes the base, he is assumed "safe" until a proper appeal is made.
Now, you could have a situation where, runner misses 2nd, they throw back and try to tag him while fielder is standing on base and he secured the ball standing on base before runner returned and play was made, still safe, then the fielder appeals him missing second.
I am banging him!