![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
With BR standing on 1B, the umpires huddle, determine no catch, and leave BR on 1B. Next batter doubles, runner scores, White Sox win, go on to win the Series. One umpire's call turned the tide (or so many Cardinals fans will tell you). One more thing: Eddings signaled the swing (hand straight out) AND the out (hammer). That didn't seem to matter.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Thanks MB - I remember it now. That is, for sure, a "need to know if it's a catch" situation. Can't be silent there.
But on a DTS when the B/R cannot advance, I'm calling the strike and nothing else. If you loudly call "batter's out! batter's out!" when the B/R cannot advance, as some have suggested, sooner or later you will do it with 2 outs and the bases loaded. And everyone stops. Now what? If you never call it, you will never F it up. |
|
|||
|
Somewhere in the FED case book, there's a case where the PU is instructed to "forcefully" call the batter out when he attempts to run in a situation when he can't. (okay -- I could probably word that in a better way.)
It's not everytime the batter is out. I use that at all levels -- telling the runners they don't need to leave the base and telling the defense they don't need to make a play. ymmv. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Strike three in the dirt ruling? | voiceoflg | Baseball | 13 | Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:50pm |
| Dropped 3 Strike on pitch in dirt | Mista Bone | Baseball | 13 | Mon Jun 27, 2005 01:10pm |
| Can a ball in the dirt be a strike? | WestMichBlue | Softball | 23 | Thu Aug 07, 2003 09:54pm |
| dirt | robert | Baseball | 5 | Fri Aug 02, 2002 08:43am |
| Strike 3 in dirt | Robert G | Baseball | 6 | Wed Jul 18, 2001 05:27am |