![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I agree, though, that the OP is not interference, since there was no play on BR. Correct procedure would have been to huddle with partner, explain your view, and ask him to change his call.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Understand for those of who believe that since there was no play there was no interference, you are wrong. Given that Quote:
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
|
If I'm the BU right there looking at the action, and the PU is several feet away, I am going to take that call. It's right in front of me. If the PU has some info for me, fine, but I think in this instance the call still belongs to the BU as there was no action that would draw his attention away.
__________________
"You are only one call away from controversy" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A.R.—If contact occurs on top of the base as a result of a “pop-up” slide, this contact is legal. c. Actions by a runner are illegal and interference shall be called if: (1) The runner slides or runs out of the base line in the direction of the fielder and alters the play of a fielder (with or without contact); (2) The runner uses a rolling or cross-body slide and either makes contact with or alters the play of a fielder; (3) The runner’s raised leg makes contact higher than the fielder’s knee when in a standing position; (4) The runner slashes or kicks the fielder with either leg; or (5) The runner illegally slides toward or contacts the fielder even if the fielder makes no attempt to throw to complete a play. From OP F4 is standing on the back of the bag Based on the OP I don't think any of the above 5 conditions were met. According to OP contact was made on top of the base, though it wasn't a pop up slide I think the principle is intact. #5 is the only possible condition that could pertain to the OP, but since contact was made on top of the bag I don't think it was illegal contact. Last edited by CO ump; Wed Apr 23, 2008 at 11:43am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
|
i agree, the only possible violation is #5, but is it ignored since the fielder was on the base.
i called nothing, b/c the fielder was partially on the base and the contact was so minimal and unintentional and it was obvious it was not altering the play in any way. i agree that either ump can make this call, but since i was staying with the play and not turning to follow a double play, i'd say that primary responsibility for this call was mine. i have to commend my partner for staying with the play, but maybe he was looking to hard to get something on this play. fyi - the coach didn't say a word. i guess he felt his kid was stupid for not sliding or avoiding. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You said the coach said nothing. That is because he did not slide. If you do not slide you must avoid.
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
|
Quote:
For me it's judgement and not an absolute. By rule R1 can legally slide over top of the base and make contact legally. He can also do a pop up slide and if not malicious make pretty strong contact over the base and be legal. So same sitch as OP but R1 makes legal but hard slide over bag takes out the legs of F4 and you got nothing. But you're saying incidental contact in the very same spot above the base shoulder to shoulder and much less dangerous for F4 would be a FPSR violation? Without arguing the letter of the law, I think intent of the law needs to be taken into consideration and good judgement on part of the arbiters of the game needs to be excersized. Last edited by CO ump; Wed Apr 23, 2008 at 01:12pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also, in nearly every response I have given, I have included the caveat a discussion of whether to pass on such a call is fruitful, but the runner has committed interference in this scenario. I think an interference call here is a much easier sale than a pass.
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
|
Quote:
For the sake of debate: R1, 2 outs ground ball to F6. F4 takes the throw on the bag LF side. easy out. While F4 is still on the bag with the ball R1 continues thru the bag on his way to his position in LF. As he passes F4 their forearms brush. Is this a FPSR violation? Is there a point where the letter of the law becomes so absurd you can't even consider it as being a violation overlooked? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Interference / Force Play Slide | tjones1 | Baseball | 25 | Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:25pm |
| Force play slide + a balk | Bob Lyle | Baseball | 6 | Tue Oct 18, 2005 08:50pm |
| Force Play slide rule | Bill Boos | Baseball | 11 | Fri Mar 18, 2005 04:20pm |
| NCAA Force Play Slide Rule | Randallump | Baseball | 6 | Sat Apr 21, 2001 07:15pm |
| Force-slide play or just interference? | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Thu Mar 29, 2001 12:31am |