![]() |
|
|
|||
Did we talk about this NFHS question yet?
I'm not sure if this came up, and my attempt to search didn't uncover it, but I wanted to ask something about a particular NFHS test question. In Virginia, we take the test online, and they mix them up, so the number is irrelevant.
Maybe I missed a few words in the question - and I didn't cut and paste it like I should have when I reviewed it - but it was essentially a question on 8-3-3a, where runners are awarded four bases when a ball is prevented from going over the fence by being by a spectator. Answer Key: False. What the he11? Someone in my association also asked about it, and from my recollection, it was worded exactly like the rulebook (I refuse to call it a "rules book") for 8-3-3a. My question is: a) did the test question not mention the words "in flight," thus making the question false, since you can't apply four bases to a ball that bounds over, or b) did the test writer $%^&# it up? I hope it's the latter, of course, for the obvious reasons, but also because I hate nit-noid questions like that. I know, we're supposed to know our rules, and know subtle details and blah blah blah, but it seems to me that could be done a little better than by just omitting two words from some long description. I'd like to think that, on the field, I'll know the d@mn ball was bouncing before the spectator kept it from going over the fence. I still kicked butt on the test, but I remember looking at the question during my review, and thinking, "I looked at the question, and compared it to page 51, so what did I miss?" Thanks. |
|
|||
It's (a). The question (#87) says "a FAIR ball is prevented from going over a fence..." If the ball's fair/foul status has been determined, it can't still be in flight. It must have touched the ground or a fielder (or gone over the fence) while on or over fair territory. It would be a 2 base award.
Last edited by dash_riprock; Sat Mar 01, 2008 at 09:58am. |
|
|||
(Before someone else says it) "But what if F9 leaps for one at the wall and deflects it off a fan who reaches over the fence and knocks the ball back onto the field?" Wouldn't that a 4-base award?
Maybe it is (b) HokieUmp. |
|
|||
that figures...
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Certainly if the questions get "randomized", the answers have to follow. Either someone messed up in the translation or VA changed the answer. |
|
|||
the question, as it's worded, doesn't even say "fair batted ball" the answer has to be false...it simply says fair ball. The answer key says True though huh??
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
to clarify....
Quote:
Given some of the ticky-tack nature of the questions, I'm sure the rationale behind the answer key was "it didn't say 'in flight,' so it's false." Don't like it, but I'll live with it. Just wish I'd thought to cut-and-paste it, so I would have the EXACT wording when I asked the question of the forum. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS question #9 | shipwreck | Softball | 6 | Wed Aug 24, 2005 06:31pm |
NFHS question | oppool | Softball | 1 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 05:37pm |
Question #99 NFHS | RookieDude | Basketball | 22 | Thu Nov 11, 2004 01:04pm |
NFHS QUESTION #40 AND #70 | roadking | Basketball | 8 | Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:02am |
NFHS Question #35 | ref18 | Basketball | 16 | Tue Nov 18, 2003 01:35pm |