The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
The question said F1 was in the windup with both hands at his sides. From this position, moving one arm does not commit him to pitch. Going to the mouth on the rubber is an illegal pitch (ball), but he has not balked.
Moving one hand to in front of the body and stoppng does not commit him to pitch. Other movements do.

See the case play on "adjusting the hat" (it might be the one Tee references).

And, yes, JohnnyG, FED rules are different.
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Dash

The NFHS overheads are FINALLY quite clear on this issue.

With a runner on base and F1 goes to his mouth, not mattering if it is the set or the wind-up position, it is a balk.

The rule clarification for 2008 made the going to the mouth situation simple.

If F1 is not in contact with the pitcher's plate he can go to his mouth as long as he wipes. It F1 is in contact with the picther's plate and there are runners on (does not matter if it is from wind-up or set, and he goes to his mouth it is a balk.

It really is quite clear in the written rule (Case Book)and the overheads.

If you look at both Case plays 6.2.1 A and 6.2.1B the violation is obvious.

Regards,
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
If you look at both Case plays 6.2.1 A and 6.2.1B the violation is obvious.

Regards,
Neither one proves your point. In 6.2.1 A, there are no runners on base, and in 6.2.1 B, F1 is in the set position.

However, from the FED website, 2008 Rules Interpretations, SITUATION 6: While on the pitcher's plate in the windup position, the pitcher has both hands at his side or both hands together in front of his body. He brings his pitching hand to his mouth and then distinctly wipes it off. RULING: This is an illegal pitch. Each runner on base would be awarded one base. If the bases were empty, a ball would be awarded to the batter. (6-1-2 Penalty)

From this, I concede. I change my answer to B, and I'll take those parting gifts.
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Dash:

I will say what separates you from many of the eumpire.com posters is that when shown that an answer is different from your view you accept the answer and move on.

I wish that all on this site had the same ability.

Regards,
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Tim

Thanks Tim. I'd much rather get something wrong on this forum than on the field. That's why I'm here.
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2008, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Gee, fellas...I told ya this was a balk 24 posts and two pages back!

And I'm right at least as often as a blind squirrel or a stopped clock...
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 19, 2008, 08:09pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
Bossman,

The correct answer to #65 IS True (i.e., it IS a balk). It's pretty much verbatim with case play 6.2.1B(b).

Also, from the POE section of the rulebook (top of p.69 for those following along at home):

(If there are runners on base,) "Going to the mouth while in contact with the pitcher's plate is a balk, not because the pitcher goes to his mouth, but because the action simulates the start of the pitching motion."

So your reasoning seems sound to me.

Now I haven't yet seen an "official" answer key, but the correct answer to the question is True, regardless of what the answer key says. Did FED screw the pooch on this one too?

JM

Official answer key is TRUE.
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2008, 01:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MSN
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
"Yeah, Timmy don't like me."

Is that the best you got?

Sad.
I'll use my best when OSU wins a game.

Last edited by MadCityRef; Wed Feb 20, 2008 at 01:28am.
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 20, 2008, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Hmmm,

"I'll use my best when OSU wins a game."

I am confused. OSU has won the last TWO National Championships.

You are an odd one.

Regards,
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
"I'll use my best when OSU wins a game."

I am confused. OSU has won the last TWO National Championships.

You are an odd one.

Regards,
Perhaps he meant Oklahoma State University?
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Must be Ohio State University which has (much to my chagrin) played in, and lost, not only the last two college football championship games, but also the NCAA basketball championship game!

Last edited by BretMan; Fri Feb 22, 2008 at 02:31am.
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Obr

Remember all, in OBR, it is not a balk or illegal pitch for a pitcher to bring his hand to his mouth.

Rita
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C
Remember all, in OBR, it is not a balk or illegal pitch for a pitcher to bring his hand to his mouth.

Rita
As long as he's off the mound.

BTW, Rita, did you notice the title of this thread?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
As long as he's off the mound.

BTW, Rita, did you notice the title of this thread?
Even if he's on the mound it's not a balk or an illegal pitch. IT's a "ball".
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
bob,

Technically, I believe it's an "illegal act".

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test questions, part 3 ChuckElias Basketball 16 Wed Sep 07, 2005 01:48am
Test questions, part 1 ChuckElias Basketball 12 Fri Sep 02, 2005 05:37am
Test Questions-NF devdog69 Volleyball 19 Wed Aug 24, 2005 01:07pm
Test questions SouthGARef Football 10 Fri Sep 17, 2004 09:50am
Questions from the test devdog69 Volleyball 14 Mon Oct 14, 2002 11:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1