The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Jim:

I really feel the issue that none of us can get our hands around is the term:

"Allow access to the base."

Without definitions this could mean a fielder could offer 1 inch, six inches, a foot or whatever and qualify as "giving access."

If you have a true "trainwreck" ANY contact would be deemed "obstruction" (i.e. the fielder is blocking access through contact) and it would be called. However, the power point presentation clearly states: "if both players are doing their jobs and there is contact, a trainwreck, then obstruction should not be called."

While I think it is crystal clear that trainwrecks are still acceptable and not penalized well thought of posters (JJ) feel otherwise.

Maybe their will be a clearly defined play when the early season interps come out on the NFHS website.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction question from the NFHS board BlitzkriegBob Softball 26 Tue Jan 08, 2008 07:21pm
NFHS Obstruction Question SC Ump Softball 25 Thu Feb 02, 2006 04:12pm
NFHS Obstruction Mechanics bossman72 Baseball 7 Thu Jul 28, 2005 08:33am
F1 as fielder and the LBR Dakota Softball 8 Sat Nov 20, 2004 09:28am
T/F - A fielder in possession of the ball can never be guilty of obstruction. Dakota Softball 2 Thu Oct 11, 2001 07:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1