The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2007, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
batter interference

i am an umpire for 12 and under in the mabf.

i had a situation occur yesterday that i was not sure how to handle..


runner on second.. and pitcher throws a fastball down the pipe. runner is attempting to steal third. as soon as catcher caught the ball, he pops up and attempts a throw to third base...in the process he hits the batter..is this interference on the batters part, or does the rule say that unless their is a play at the plate, the batter isnt required to leave the box, and the catcher must simply go around him..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2007, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike42255
i am an umpire for 12 and under in the mabf.

i had a situation occur yesterday that i was not sure how to handle..


runner on second.. and pitcher throws a fastball down the pipe. runner is attempting to steal third. as soon as catcher caught the ball, he pops up and attempts a throw to third base...in the process he hits the batter..is this interference on the batters part, or does the rule say that unless their is a play at the plate, the batter isnt required to leave the box, and the catcher must simply go around him..
No clue what the mabf may be...

But in all ruleset I've worked, catcher must clear the batter --- unless the batter did something to INTENTIONALLY interfere in this case, you have a live ball, play on.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 27, 2007, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 1
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
No clue what the mabf may be...

But in all ruleset I've worked, catcher must clear the batter --- unless the batter did something to INTENTIONALLY interfere in this case, you have a live ball, play on.
Now if the catcher throws the ball hits the batter/bat and the ball goes into the dugout or other dead ball area you should be awarding two bases as long as the batter did not interfere. You will have fun selling this one with out issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Interference - OBR Saltydog Baseball 5 Mon May 16, 2005 09:35am
Batter interference....or not? Yeggman Softball 1 Mon Apr 05, 2004 05:03pm
Batter interference gmtomko Baseball 2 Thu May 08, 2003 04:12pm
Batter Interference - again efllblue Baseball 4 Tue May 08, 2001 08:44pm
Batter interference? Robert G Baseball 4 Sun Apr 22, 2001 11:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1