View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2007, 09:23am
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Originally Posted by mike42255
i am an umpire for 12 and under in the mabf.

i had a situation occur yesterday that i was not sure how to handle..

runner on second.. and pitcher throws a fastball down the pipe. runner is attempting to steal third. as soon as catcher caught the ball, he pops up and attempts a throw to third the process he hits the this interference on the batters part, or does the rule say that unless their is a play at the plate, the batter isnt required to leave the box, and the catcher must simply go around him..
No clue what the mabf may be...

But in all ruleset I've worked, catcher must clear the batter --- unless the batter did something to INTENTIONALLY interfere in this case, you have a live ball, play on.
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote