The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2001, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4
Question

Situation: LL Majors. Two outs runner on third. Wild pitch to the third base side of the plate. Runner coming in from third, pitcher covering the plate, batter takes a couple of steps out of the batters box directly in the path of the ball being tossed to the pitcher by the catcher. Ball hit the batter in the back. I call interference on the batter, inning over. In a prior post, a situation similar to this one of the answers given is that since there was no deliberate interference, no interference should be called. I look at the definition for interference (LL Rule Book - 2.0) and no real mention of deliberation is included. I based my call on this and on 7.08g; Any runner is out - g. "attempting to score on a play in which the batter interferes with the play at home base before two are out. With two out, the interference puts the batter out and no runs score." Thanks...

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2001, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 174
I seen the same post also. In my opinion, the batter owns the batters box. But if the ball gets way-away from the catcher and there are people moving in a hurry, the batter better know to clear the area.

If he doesn't, then he INTENTIONALLY stayed in the area of the play. Thus, if he gets hit by the ball....OUT!

Max
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2001, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 3
Batter's out. He may have been trying to get out of way, but he didn't quite make it. Intentional or non-intentional has no bearing on the call.

With the very young one's (LL 8-10 yr olds), I have on occassion actually pulled them out of the way. We've all seen them, standing in the batter's box like deer caught in headlights. This saves a kid from potentially getting hurt and gets him out of the way of the play. I've also on occassion clued them in before the pitch that if the catcher misses the ball, I want him running all the way back to the fence. A little defensive umpiring and coaching.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2001, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 71
If the batter was doing everything possible to get out of the way, no interference. Batter did not interfere with the fielders he interfered with the ball. Interference with a thrown ball must be intentional. If you think he was deliberately slow in getting out of the way, or intentionally getting in the way, interference.

Once the catcher/pitcher err, batter interference rule is not in effect, they get one free chance to make the play cleanly, after that 7.11 and 7.09(l) are in effect (get out of the way of the fielders and don't intentionally interfere with the ball.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2001, 08:44pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
On every level of ball that I work, at one time or another with a play looming at the plate, I have yelled at the batter, "Get outta the way!" I like the "deer caught in the headlights" analogy!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1