The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2001, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 38
Batter Interference

Just finished a LL game 11 & 12. Runner on 3rd one out, ball four is a wild pitch & B1 just stands there as catcher retreves the ball & throws to the pitcher covering home. The ball does hit B1 & I call interference.
a- does the runner return to 3rd or is he out?
b- what would happen if it were not ball 4


[Edited by Robert G on Apr 23rd, 2001 at 07:24 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2001, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 34
Cool

ummmmm
Why did you call "interference"? Did the batter do something deliberately that to interefere with the throw to the pitcher? Did he know it was ball 4? Perhaps he just thought it was ball 3 and was standing there.

If it truly was interference the put the runner back on 3B.

Just my 2 CSA cents,
Will

__________________
Conqueror of Mothra
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2001, 04:24pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb I'll take a pop at it.

Quote:
Originally posted by Robert G
Just finished a LL game 11 & 12. Runner on 3rd one out, ball four is a wild pitch & B1 just stands there as catcher retreves the ball & the throws to the pitcher. The ball does hit B1 & I call interference.
a- does the runner return to 3rd?
b- what would happen if it were not ball 4
Robert,
Good question. Here's a guess.

If unintentional, I've got R3 out and B-R on first.

If intentional, I've got R3 and B-R out.

mick


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2001, 10:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 52
considering the age we are working with, I would have ignored the "interference" and sent the batter to 1b. these kids are only 11 & 12, at this age they sometimes don't even remember they are playing a baseball game. (I taught middle school for 17 years I think I know of what I speak.)
Let's see B/R has been awarded 1b without liability to be put out (unless he does something stupid, like interfere with the throw back to the pitcher, or completely step over 1b and not touch the bag.) Yea, send him to 1b, feign stupidity or the sun in your eyes and claim you didn't see anything. ty
__________________
Ty
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2001, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Robert----
I suspect there is more to this situation than you originally posted. I am guessing R3 is attempting to score, F2 is throwing to F1 who is covering the plate, and batter is there not knowing he walked, or he is spectating.

If this is the case and batter fails to vacate with a play occurring (and he had opportunity to vacate), then this is indeed batter interference-----intentional or not.
R3 is out and batter awarded first on ball 4 called on delivered pitch.

Just my opinion,

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1