The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
I read very clearly...it doesn't say anywhere to "give them a little more leeway". It says that they shall NOT be called out!
The rule you are reading incorrectly is ONLY (Solely and specifically) to be applied in the case of a ball that goes through or immediately by a fielder. It says, "Through or by and infielder" right there in the rule, but you want to apply this to a ball that does not go through or by an infielder. The reason for THIS rule is that the rules DO give more leeway to a runner in this case. the rule DOES NOT apply to a ball that does not go through or by an infielder. The rulebook is not a buffet - you can't pick part of the wording of THIS rule and use it to replace the wording in the rule regarding a different situation (like the OP, by the way).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Here we go again,

How many want to bet that BlueUmp, no matter what documentation is supplied, will NEVER change his mind about his misinterpretation of this rule.

This is a pretty standard happening on internet message boards.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2007, 06:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
How many want to bet that BlueUmp, no matter what documentation is supplied, will NEVER change his mind about his misinterpretation of this rule.

This is a pretty standard happening on internet message boards.

Regards,
Sounds like an immature pot shot to me. Some pose questions and what they would call based on what they know and are actually willing to learn from what is said on this board. I've changed my view on many topics by reading and defending positions this board.

You don't know me at all, and I don't know you. If you feel the need to stoop to this level, you are the one showing how ignorant you really are. Maybe you should attempt to actually add to the intelligent discussion here instead of making personal attacks against someone you don't have a clue about.
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
The rule you are reading incorrectly is ONLY (Solely and specifically) to be applied in the case of a ball that goes through or immediately by a fielder. It says, "Through or by and infielder" right there in the rule, but you want to apply this to a ball that does not go through or by an infielder. The reason for THIS rule is that the rules DO give more leeway to a runner in this case. the rule DOES NOT apply to a ball that does not go through or by an infielder. The rulebook is not a buffet - you can't pick part of the wording of THIS rule and use it to replace the wording in the rule regarding a different situation (like the OP, by the way).
HUH???

So, what rule (if not this one) do you apply to a baserunner hit by a batted ball, standing on a base when "the infield is drawn in and had an opportunity to make a play" as I can clearly read the OP says.

Maybe the buffet food has gotten in your eyes, but still have a live ball, no out, as I stated originally. You seem to be arguing just to argue.
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
HUH???

So, what rule (if not this one) do you apply to a baserunner hit by a batted ball, standing on a base when "the infield is drawn in and had an opportunity to make a play" as I can clearly read the OP says.
You're kidding right. You do see that the rule you quoted is just one small part of the bigger rule (this one is part k), right? I'll leave it to you to find the right one, and give you the hint that it does not say that the fielder who had a play on the ball had to be an infielder - it says A FIELDER.

Quote:
Maybe the buffet food has gotten in your eyes, but still have a live ball, no out, as I stated originally. You seem to be arguing just to argue.
Bases loaded, infield in, CF standing 10-feet behind 2B. Sharp hit up the middle bounces (past F4 and F6), hits R2, and you feel F8 had a play. You rule no out? If so, please read the rest of the rule. If you still have no out, there's no hope for you. Garth, me, et al have told you the rule. Choose to believe what you want to believe.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 01:43pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
You're kidding right. You do see that the rule you quoted is just one small part of the bigger rule (this one is part k), right? I'll leave it to you to find the right one, and give you the hint that it does not say that the fielder who had a play on the ball had to be an infielder - it says A FIELDER.


Bases loaded, infield in, CF standing 10-feet behind 2B. Sharp hit up the middle bounces (past F4 and F6), hits R2, and you feel F8 had a play. You rule no out? If so, please read the rest of the rule. If you still have no out, there's no hope for you. Garth, me, et al have told you the rule. Choose to believe what you want to believe.
My rule book says "no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball." F8 is not an infielder.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
My rule book says "no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball." F8 is not an infielder.
Maybe the rule book is in error? Maybe its a typo over and over and over again!
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
Maybe the rule book is in error? Maybe its a typo over and over and over again!
There are over 230 errors identified in the rule book.

Let's recap, on one side we have Jim Evans, Rick Roder, the MLBUM (an official publicatino with official interpretations), PBUC, the pro schools, and MLB and MiLB umpires.

On the other side we have blueump and SDS. Man, this is a tough choice, but I think I'll go with the pros on this one.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 01:50pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
I suggest everyone who thinks the rule applies to an outfielder go reread the rule more carefully.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
I suggest everyone who thinks the rule applies to an outfielder go reread the rule more carefully.
Let's see, that would include Roder, Evans, the authors of the MLBUM, every MLB umpire, PBUC......I'll help you get the letters out. Let's start with Mike Winters.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 11:52pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
Let's see, that would include Roder, Evans, the authors of the MLBUM, every MLB umpire, PBUC......I'll help you get the letters out. Let's start with Mike Winters.
I'm not taking anyone's side here. We have umpires quoting 7.09k as "an other fielder had a play" when it doesn't say that, it says "infielder."

7.08b was not being discussed or quoted, it was 7.09k that everyone was so enchanted with here.

CoachJM said 7.09k referred to any fielder, which is incorrect, it says "an infielder."

That is the only part I am disputing here. I'm not going against your "gods" of baseball you listed.

I don't need any help getting any letters out smart guy.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25

Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Wed May 23, 2007 at 01:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
My rule book says "no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball." F8 is not an infielder.
7.09k does ... and 7.09k does not apply to this situation. 7.09k specifically applies to situations where the ball passes through or by an infielder.

7.08b -
Any runner is out when --
(b) He ... hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball;

Note - NOT an infielder ... a fielder.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder

Bases loaded, infield in, CF standing 10-feet behind 2B. .
For the purpose of rule interpretation, isn't F8 in this situation an infielder?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2007, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
For the purpose of rule interpretation, isn't F8 in this situation an infielder?
Thus we come to yet another difference between FED and ORB.

In ORB, not unless he is actually on the infield - any player who occupies the position in the infield is an infielder.

In FED, no - the players who play left, right and centerfields are considered outfielders, no matter where they play...the others are infielders.
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batted Ball Hits Runner On Third Base? heavyd8266 Baseball 9 Wed Apr 25, 2007 08:20am
base on balls ump14 Baseball 2 Sun Jul 23, 2006 08:03am
Overrruning first on a base on balls Jay R Baseball 10 Fri Jul 29, 2005 07:31am
Running Base on Balls BoomerSooner Baseball 3 Tue May 17, 2005 12:53pm
base on balls twhidd Baseball 6 Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1