The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Balls hits runner on base (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/34907-balls-hits-runner-base.html)

njdevs00cup Tue May 22, 2007 11:10am

Balls hits runner on base
 
If a batted ball hits a baserunner on the base, is the runner out when:

the infield is at normal depth (did not have an opportunity to field)?

the infield is drawn in and had an opportunity to make a play?

infield fly situation?

blueump Tue May 22, 2007 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
If a batted ball hits a baserunner on the base, is the runner out when:

the infield is at normal depth (did not have an opportunity to field)?

YES, if in your judgment a player had an opportunity to make a play.

Quote:

Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
the infield is drawn in and had an opportunity to make a play?

NO, ball remains live

Quote:

Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
infield fly situation?

NO, IFF is listed as an exception to the rule. The runner is safe unless he intentionally interferes.

GarthB Tue May 22, 2007 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
the infield is drawn in and had an opportunity to make a play?
Quote:

Originally Posted by blueump

NO, ball remains live

What if an outfielder is also playing in, is directly behind the runner and is attempting a play on the ball?

tibear Tue May 22, 2007 11:45am

Except for the infield fly situation, whether the base runner is on a base is immaterial.

It comes down to whether the runner got hit by a batted ball over fair territory which potentially prevented the defense from making a play. If the umpire decides that ANY defensive player could have made a play on the ball if it hadn't touched the runner then the play is dead, the hit baserunner is out, the batter is awarded first and all other runners return to their TOP base.

blueump Tue May 22, 2007 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GarthB
What if an outfielder is also playing in, is directly behind the runner and is attempting a play on the ball?

Nope, no good. The book specifies it as "an infielder".

ORB - 7.08f
FED - 8-4-2k

blueump Tue May 22, 2007 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
If the umpire decides that ANY defensive player could have made a play on the ball if it hadn't touched the runner then the play is dead, the hit baserunner is out, the batter is awarded first and all other runners return to their TOP base.

Again, I would have to disagree. The rules specify not "any defensive player" but "an infielder".

tibear Tue May 22, 2007 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by blueump
Nope, no good. The book specifies it as "an infielder".

ORB - 7.08f
FED - 8-4-2k

I stand corrected.

Thanks

GarthB Tue May 22, 2007 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blueump
Nope, no good. The book specifies it as "an infielder".

ORB - 7.08f
FED - 8-4-2k

I may be having a major memory malfuction. When I get home I'll check the source of this opinion.

njdevs00cup Tue May 22, 2007 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
Except for the infield fly situation, whether the base runner is on a base is immaterial.

It comes down to whether the runner got hit by a batted ball over fair territory which potentially prevented the defense from making a play. If the umpire decides that ANY defensive player could have made a play on the ball if it hadn't touched the runner then the play is dead, the hit baserunner is out, the batter is awarded first and all other runners return to their TOP base.

For arguement sake, does the runner have to give up his position on the bag to allow the fielder to field the ball? Can the runner be called for interference, if he does not?

njdevs00cup Tue May 22, 2007 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
Except for the infield fly situation, whether the base runner is on a base is immaterial.

It comes down to whether the runner got hit by a batted ball over fair territory which potentially prevented the defense from making a play. If the umpire decides that ANY defensive player could have made a play on the ball if it hadn't touched the runner then the play is dead, the hit baserunner is out, the batter is awarded first and all other runners return to their TOP base.

For arguement sake, does the runner have to give up his position on the bag to allow the fielder to field the ball (pop - up, non-infield fly)? Can the runner be called for interference, if he does not?

njdevs00cup Tue May 22, 2007 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
Except for the infield fly situation, whether the base runner is on a base is immaterial.

It comes down to whether the runner got hit by a batted ball over fair territory which potentially prevented the defense from making a play. If the umpire decides that ANY defensive player could have made a play on the ball if it hadn't touched the runner then the play is dead, the hit baserunner is out, the batter is awarded first and all other runners return to their TOP base.

For arguement sake, does the runner have to give up his position on the bag to allow the fielder to field the ball (pop - up, non-infield fly)? Can the runner be called for interference, if he does not?

njdevs00cup Tue May 22, 2007 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
Except for the infield fly situation, whether the base runner is on a base is immaterial.

It comes down to whether the runner got hit by a batted ball over fair territory which potentially prevented the defense from making a play. If the umpire decides that ANY defensive player could have made a play on the ball if it hadn't touched the runner then the play is dead, the hit baserunner is out, the batter is awarded first and all other runners return to their TOP base.

For arguement sake, does the runner have to give up his position on the bag to allow the fielder to field the ball (pop - up, non-infield fly)? Can the runner be called for interference, if he does not?

waltjp Tue May 22, 2007 12:17pm

wow, deja vu

blueump Tue May 22, 2007 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GarthB
I may be having a major memory malfuction. When I get home I'll check the source of this opinion.

The "source" is pretty easy to find since you do apparently have internet connection:

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info...s/runner_7.jsp

or if you need to:

(f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;
Rule 7.08(f) Comment: If two runners are touched by the same fair ball, only the first one is out because the ball is instantly dead.

UmpJM Tue May 22, 2007 12:20pm

BlueUmp & tibear,

Rule 2.00, Interference (a) Offensive Interference: "any fielder"

6.08(d): "a fielder"

7.08(b): "a fielder"

7.09(k): "a fielder"

So, according to the text of the rules (not to mention the MLBUM, JEA, & J/R), any member of the defense (i.e., fielder) is protected from interference. Whether the defense had a realistic chance to successfully complete a play is not relevant unless the untouched batted ball went "through or by" a fielder (i.e., between his legs or within his reach) and hit a runner who was immediately back of him.

JM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1