The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2007, 12:25am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
A runner’s baseline is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base he is attempting to reach safely.
So I make sure I understand, there is no baseline till the defense attempts to put the runner out, then it is a path three feet wide in a straight line from where said runner is to the bag.

Does this apply in NFHS rules?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2007, 01:31am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl
So I make sure I understand, there is no baseline till the defense attempts to put the runner out, then it is a path three feet wide in a straight line from where said runner is to the bag.
Yes, just like we have always interpreted it. Actually it's a path six feet wide, three feet on each side of the established baseline.

Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl
Does this apply in NFHS rules?
No. The rule already existed in the FED book. 8-4-2a NOTE.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2007, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
No. The rule already existed in the FED book. 8-4-2a NOTE.
Or more clearly, yes, the rule is the same in NFHS but was already stated clearly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2007, 01:27pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire
Or more clearly, yes, the rule is the same in NFHS but was already stated clearly.
What I was trying to say is that the OBR rule did not apply to NFHS since OBR rules don't affect FED rules anyway. I perceived the question meant "does this rewording apply to NFHS," and the answer was, and still is, no. I then clearly stated that the same rule already exists in the FED book.

Sounds pretty clear to me.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule Change #2 VaCoach Basketball 24 Sun Feb 05, 2006 05:57am
8-2-2 Rule Change BktBallRef Football 10 Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:59pm
ASA rule change?? oppool Softball 4 Sat Nov 16, 2002 12:30pm
Let's change this rule Mark Padgett Basketball 7 Wed Jun 27, 2001 01:43pm
Did they change the rule? kschau Basketball 4 Thu Dec 14, 2000 04:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1