The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 09, 2000, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 6
I was just wondering something... If a1 takes a shot and its an airball and he gets his own rebound; is this traveling? I know that it used to be, but did they change this rule if it is a legit shot?
__________________
Kenneth A. Schau
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 09, 2000, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
4.43B. Play: A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? Ruling: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12; 4-40)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 09, 2000, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: West Ishpeming, Mi. (U.P.)
Posts: 235
Talking

Just be sure it was a weak shot, and the player wasn't "passing to him/herself." You still will hear it from the stands "TRAVELING!!", but you will be correct with a quiet whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 11, 2000, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Actually taught players something

In a Rec League game I officiated on Saturday, this happened TWICE. In the first half of the game, the players were screaming for traveling. At halftime, I showed the players the casebook example, and when it happened in the second half, the only complained about how stupid the rule was and not about "stripes missed the call".

I guess rec-league players are teachable once in a while.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2000, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 142
Smile Re: Actually taught players something

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears

I guess rec-league players are teachable once in a while.
That wasn't my experience. I swore off rec ball last year!

My worst incident involved a player going completely ballistic when his opponent was moving his feet while inbounding the ball. The angry player insisted it was travelling.... (Of course, the inbounder was staying within the confines of the designated spot.)

[Edited by JoeT on Dec 14th, 2000 at 09:37 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1