![]() |
|
|
|||
OBR and the Set Position
For Eureka 25:
In OBR, the pitcher may start with his hands together and his pivot foot on the rubber. To rule a balk or illegal pitch, you'd have to make a judgement if he took "enough" time remaining in that position before delivering the pitch. If one second, in your opinion, is sufficient, you've got nothing. As for taking signs from the catcher while in contact with the rubber, no where in any rule book does it define "sign". The fact that the catcher holds his mitt in a particular spot or otherwise indicates where the pitch should be thrown, constitutes a sign. All the rule intends is that the pitcher does something before simply delivering the pitch. And actually, in OBR it's not just a "don't do that". (taking signs from off the rubber). It's more of a case of "do that" . . . the pitcher should be instructed to take his signs while on the rubber. A pitcher can take signs from anyone and anywhere, including from his Aunt Nellie in Hoboken, when he's not on the rubber; just so long as he takes one from the catcher while in contact with it. Jerry |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Perhaps I'm misunderstanding you, but, no, he may not. From OBR 8.01(b): Quote:
FWIW, I agree with the rest of what you said. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Rule 8.01(b)
JM,
You didn't read the first part of the Rule, JM. "Before assuming Set Position" (which is defined in 8.01(b)), the pitcher MAY elect (my own emphasis added) to make any natural preliminary motion such as that known as "the stretch". But if he so elects, he shall come to Set Position before delivering the ball to the batter." And the explanation then goes on. The part that you're reading and quoting only refers to the pitcher if he elects to do the optional preliminary motions. In that case, I agree, he'd have to have his hand on his side, etc. FED rules require what you're saying, but Eureka25 specifically requested OBR information. Jerry |
|
|||
![]()
Jerry,
OBR requires that the pitcher pitching from Set engage the rubber with his hands separated. Says so in the rules, says so in JEA, says so in J/R, says so on the Evans balk video. It has nothing to do with whether the pitcher elects to "stretch" or not. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
JM,
You're absolutely right. I keep forgetting that J/R has an entire interpretation book. In there, the use the term "Stretch" to mean the "Set" Position. Furthermore, the "Set" is only that portion of the "Stretch" that refers to the momentary delay before delivering the pitch. My bad. Jerry |
|
|||
it's also my understanding that J/R is not the official interp book...the PBUC manual is the official interp book...at least that's what Palermo told me last summer...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
Tim. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backward pass | OverAndBack | Football | 2 | Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:59am |
Backward Passes | Nyjets | Football | 11 | Wed Oct 19, 2005 05:47am |
Backward Pass | monsignor | Football | 18 | Wed Oct 13, 2004 04:09pm |
Backward Pass | w_sohl | Football | 13 | Tue Aug 19, 2003 04:42am |
Backward pass O/B | Tom Cook | Football | 4 | Wed May 01, 2002 02:37pm |