The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 15
Pitcher - backward set position

I have a question around ruling on a pitcher coming to a set position. Here is the situation... We have a R1 and a RH pitcher. Pitcher is straddling the rubber. He takes his pivot foot and engages the rubber as he simultaneously comes to his set position. He is set for one second and then delivers his pitch to the plate.

I see it this way and need help...I see in OBR that the pitcher must take his signs from being on the rubber. So now the argument comes is that there are no signs - no infraction(?). What rule am I missing here, because I see this as a definite occurrence of deceiving the runner/batter. It must be a balk. OBR help please.

Thanks,
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
The pitcher must either take the signs from on the rubber or "simulate" taking a sign. That might be the FED terminology, but the purpose remains the same: To keep the pitcher from quick-pitching.

But I'm curious as to the answer from the more experienced members of this board. Taking signs off the rubber in OBR is not penalized a balk, its just a "don't do that". Assuming the pitcher contacting the rubber before bringing the hands together, what, as an umpire, do you do?
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Sounds like a balk for a quick-pitch to me... but I'd have to be there.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 01:10pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
If you're doing to micromanage your baseball game it could be considered a balk...that being said, I would never call a balk in this sitch...100% won't agree w/ me on this...but that is reality...don't micromanage your games with being "tic-tack" on rules that disrupt the flow of the game. I would ask the catcher to go tell the pitcher to take his signs on the rubber/get set on the rubber/whatever.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 286
OBR and the Set Position

For Eureka 25:

In OBR, the pitcher may start with his hands together and his pivot foot on the rubber. To rule a balk or illegal pitch, you'd have to make a judgement if he took "enough" time remaining in that position before delivering the pitch. If one second, in your opinion, is sufficient, you've got nothing.

As for taking signs from the catcher while in contact with the rubber, no where in any rule book does it define "sign". The fact that the catcher holds his mitt in a particular spot or otherwise indicates where the pitch should be thrown, constitutes a sign. All the rule intends is that the pitcher does something before simply delivering the pitch.

And actually, in OBR it's not just a "don't do that". (taking signs from off the rubber). It's more of a case of "do that" . . . the pitcher should be instructed to take his signs while on the rubber. A pitcher can take signs from anyone and anywhere, including from his Aunt Nellie in Hoboken, when he's not on the rubber; just so long as he takes one from the catcher while in contact with it.

Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry
For Eureka 25:

In OBR, the pitcher may start with his hands together and his pivot foot on the rubber. ...
Jerry
Jerry,

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding you, but, no, he may not.

From OBR 8.01(b):

Quote:
...Preparatory to coming to a set position, the pitcher shall have one hand on his side; from this position he shall go to his set position as defined in Rule 8.01(b) without interruption and in one continuous motion. ...
He can't start with his hands together. Not a balk - just a "don't do that".

FWIW, I agree with the rest of what you said.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 15
I wouldn't deem it as a quick pitch if he actually comes set. Let's assume he comes set for three seconds. My issue is with the fundamentals of getting to the set position from off the rubber. It seems like something to deceive, but I don't know how to rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backward pass OverAndBack Football 2 Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:59am
Backward Passes Nyjets Football 11 Wed Oct 19, 2005 05:47am
Backward Pass monsignor Football 18 Wed Oct 13, 2004 04:09pm
Backward Pass w_sohl Football 13 Tue Aug 19, 2003 04:42am
Backward pass O/B Tom Cook Football 4 Wed May 01, 2002 02:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1