![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Wait, it gets better Quote:
Last edited by kylejt; Sat Apr 28, 2007 at 11:49pm. |
|
|||
My question is that although they ultimately they got the call right, does the fact that they did it 3 innings after they should have make it protestable. I would think that Baltimore would have protested immediately after the original misinterp. It looked like Cleveland only protested after the call was reversed. I don't know of any ruling that would suggest that you can't go back and correct the score, but I'm certainly not an MLB ump.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
Quote:
They would have used 4.19 to show a misapplication of rule 4.09 4.19 PROTESTING GAMES Each league shall adopt rules governing procedure for protesting a game, when a manager claims that an umpire's decision is in violation of these rules. No protest shall ever be permitted on judgment decisions by the umpire. In all protested games, the decision of the League President shall be final. Even if it is held that the protested decision violated the rules, no replay of the game will be ordered unless in the opinion of the League President the violation adversely affected the protesting team's chances of winning the game. Official Notes - Case Book - Comments: Whenever a manager protests a game because of alleged misapplication of the rules the protest will not be recognized unless the umpires are notified at the time the play under protest occurs and before the next pitch is made or a runner is retired. A protest arising on a game-ending play may be filed until 12 noon the following day with the League Office. 4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Cross References: 1.02, 1.03, 2.00 Run, 4.09(b, A.R.), 5.06, 6.09(h), 7.04(b), 7.05(a), 7.08(j) Tim. |
|
|||
In my opinion, it is plate umpire Marvin Hudson's bad all the way. He waved off the run that clearly scored before the 3rd out was made on appeal. He clearly was operating under the common but oh-so-wrong misunderstanding that doubling off a runner who leaves early on a fly is a force out.
I think Montague et. al. were kind of thrown under the bus by Hudson's ignorance, and didn't realize what had happened until it was too late, but then guilt gnawed on them for 3 innings until Montague made the executive decision to correct the error. I think the protest should be upheld. The rules afforded the offense ample opportunity to appeal for a correct decision, and they did not. Montague's heart may have been in the right place, vis-a-vis the currently popular "get it right" mantra, but his 3-inning late mea culpa is without precedent and without support in the rules or published interpretations. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
This brings us back to
Where in the rulebook does it state that an umpire can wipe off an earned run by mistake?
The defense saw the umpires were still wondering about the play in question too. Both sides put in their arguments and the umpires corrected the mistake, albeit 3 innings too late. I believe there is a precedent to changing the official score to reflect player statitistics such as RBI awards. The defense should have been well aware of the mistake the umpires had made. I guess instant replay was shown and everyone knew the umpires had made a mistake. The right thing to do would be to withdraw the protest, if possible, or throw it out, if not. Last edited by SAump; Sun Apr 29, 2007 at 03:48pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Too late now, or three innings later, IMO. |
|
|||
Quote:
Guys are always *****ing about a guy kicking a call or a crew making a mistake. THIS IS WHEN THE BEST UMPIRING IS DONE AND THE REAL CREAM RISES TO THE TOP. Yes, they should have never missed the call, but they did and then they got it right. The idea as it was explained to me when I was in pro ball and being evaluated was not to be perfect, but get in a **** house and come out on the other side clean. You never wanted to have a nothing game when you were being looked at. This play was handled very well and the crew is to be comended for not caring what it looked like or what they looked like, but putting their personal interests aside and getting the freaking call right. As for the protest, I honestly think that it will not be allowed. The protest was made by Cleveland when they added the run, but they umpires simply did they right thing once they realized what that was. So the timing of the protest by Cleveland was correct, but in the "judgement" of the umpires, they did what they felt was correct. You can't protest a judgement call and it was Ed's judgement to have the run awarded. It doesn't matter when, when he did it was still the right call. To answer the lack of support in the rules, their is no support either way, so as per 9.01c they had the right to do what they did. Fell free to tell me that I am wrong, because all 7 of my friends did. |
|
|||
Quote:
I think they will disallow the protest also because the rules are not very clear either way. As we know in baseball, there is a first time for everything. Thanks DAvid |
|
|||
Quote:
There is a precedent. About 4 or 5 years ago in AAA, the same thing happened. Plate umpire had a brain fart, but the crew didn't get together. An inning later, the first base umpire came down to talk with the plate umpire to ask about the play because he thought it was rather odd that R3 didn't beat the throw. The plate umpire said that he did (by about 2 steps), but it was a force out at 1st for the 3rd out so the run doesn't count. The 3 umpires got together and said that they kicked that call, and the run should have counted. Then, they put the run on the board. Of course, the defensive team for the play in question immediately protested the game. End result - the protest was denied. BJ |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Let me use an extreme example to get my point across. In NFL football, pass interference is a judgement call and it is a spot foul. let's say we had a controversial play in the end zone a blatant Pass interference which was not called. The offense proceeds to run 2 more plays and then punts the ball. All of a sudden the officials huddle and now want to 'go back" and enforce the pass interference call. One might say wait a minute Pete you are comparing apples / oranges. IMO I am not. In baseball a run is a HUGE factor in the game. IMO, you cannot go back and Retroactively put runs on the Board. The game is dictated by how many runs one is leading by. It effects the pitching match-ups etc. The O's had plenty of time to question the play or appeal it. They didn't so IMO, you cannot go back and put runs on the Board. My opinion doesn't count so we will have to wait and see what major league baseball does. Whatever the decision, it's my gut money will come into it, meaning if the protest is upheld, do the people who attended that game have free seats to see the game picked up from the protest or will they have 2 admissions sort of a day / night type double dip. If the protest is NOT upheld then IMO the floodgates could be open. IMO, this theory about getting the call right is overhyped becasue the fact is We will not get every call right. Timing is a factor that's why the rule-makers put "time limits" if you will into the appeal rules. We live in an imperfect world. Bottom Line IMO, a Very Poor job by this umpiring crew. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
I remember an example (from the J/R? from a rules quiz?) very similar to this case but not identical in process.
In the play, in the third inning, the run scores from 3B before the third out is registered on appeal of a runner who left 1B too soon on a caught fly ball. (Same as in the Cleveland-Baltimore game). But in this play, the umpires don't make a call either way on the run, and the game proceeds as if the run did not score. The rest goes something like this: the game goes to extra innings, and the team that got the "break" on the run eventually wins. After the game, the umpires realize that the third-inning run should have counted. Supposedly, the run is then counted and the outcome of the game is reversed. From reading the newspaper yesterday, I got the impression that the umpire initially claimed that the out at 1B had occurred before the runner from 3B crossed the plate. I was umpiring down in Delaware/Maryland yesterday, and the fans were talking about the play. Everyone seemed to be saying that over the next couple of innings, somebody must have showed the umps a replay showing that the run had scored, but since they're not supposed to rely on replays, they looked for excuse to reverse themselves. It's inconceivable to me that four MLB umpires could blow that call on a rule misinterpretation.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
I agree, there has to be more to it than what the news is describing...how can four of the best blow it that bad...I just don't get it...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Unusual Play in NCAA game | rulesmaven | Basketball | 8 | Thu Mar 23, 2006 04:23pm |
Det Lions v Baltimore | theuk | Football | 11 | Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:53am |
order of occurence? | refTN | Basketball | 7 | Thu May 12, 2005 11:11am |
Sinlge game with the greatest # of unusual calls... | Dakota | Softball | 5 | Mon Jun 07, 2004 05:51pm |
Baltimore vs Boston | mrm21711 | Baseball | 43 | Thu May 06, 2004 07:21pm |