The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Unusual Play in NCAA game

Washington v. Illinois in the 2d round of the NCAA tournament.

Second made free throw by Illinois player. Ball is put at the disposal of the Washington player behind the endline under the basket in which Illinois has just scored. Official starts counting five seconds. Washington player places the ball on the floor, out of bounds behind the end line, and runs into bounds. Another Washington player comes from in bounds to out of bounds, picks up the ball, and looks to pass it in bounds. Official (who had momentarily suspended his count due to some apparent confusion) continues the count and the Washington player calls time out before inbounding just before a five count.

I've never seen this play before. I could not find it in the rules. Is there a specific rule allowing the player to place the ball on the floor out of bounds? May any player from either team then pick the ball up without liability for being OOB?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
You don't need to find a rule that allows it. You need to find a rule that disallows it.

After a made/awarded basket any number of members for the throwing in team can be OOB behind the end line as long as no other throw-in rules are violated.

In this play no other rules were violated.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
You don't need to find a rule that allows it. You need to find a rule that disallows it.

After a made/awarded basket any number of members for the throwing in team can be OOB behind the end line as long as no other throw-in rules are violated.

In this play no other rules were violated.
So the key is that it never crossed the plane into bounds, and no Illinois player could cross the plane to go OOB to touch the ball, so it was safe just sitting there on the floor?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by rulesmaven
So the key is that it never crossed the plane into bounds, and no Illinois player could cross the plane to go OOB to touch the ball, so it was safe just sitting there on the floor?
It wasn't *passed* inbounds and 5 seconds didn't elapse. If it rolled inbounds we're OK. (I think...?? Yeah sure, we're OK.)

That's pretty much it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 515
I saw this play and went back and counted the seconds. They definitely got the timeout before 5 actual seconds. It does look unusual but it is legal. You usually see this with younger age groups. They forget that someone else is supposed to pass it in so they either put the ball on the ground or hand it to someone else.

If this was a spot throw-in then this would be illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
What if the player hands the ball to a teammate who is on the court, then comes off the court to in bound. There was never any intention of an actual inbound.

Thats a whistle, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 12:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
What if the player hands the ball to a teammate who is on the court, then comes off the court to in bound. There was never any intention of an actual inbound.

Thats a whistle, correct?
That much is a violation itself, even without this part.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 04:11pm
JB JB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 16
How about NCAA Rule 7 - Sec 6 - Art 5 (BR-118)

Art. 5. The thrower-in shall not leave the designated spot until he/she
has released the ball and the thrown-in ball crosses the plane of the
sideline or endline.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB
Art. 5. The thrower-in shall not leave the designated spot until he/she
has released the ball and the thrown-in ball crosses the plane of the
sideline or endline.
That's the key - this rule is specifying a designated spot throw-in, whereas the play mentioned was an end-line throw-in after a made basket.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unusual play - need your help sc/nc ref Basketball 10 Wed Feb 15, 2006 01:42pm
Unusual interference play John Robertson Softball 3 Thu Jul 21, 2005 02:49pm
Unusual play BigUmpJohn Softball 3 Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:11am
Unusual Play Gregg U Football 9 Thu Aug 08, 2002 12:24am
Unusual Play whiskers_ump Softball 7 Sun Apr 29, 2001 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1