The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 38
Coach's Interference?

R2. B1 drives a ball into the outfield. R2 rounds third as the ball is on its way into home, clearly well in front of the runner. The third base coach, out of the box (if that matters to anyone), raises both hands in a stop signal, and steps directly in front of R2's path. R2 slams on the breaks and stops just before colliding with the coach and then trots back to 3rd. It is obvious that the only reason R2 stopped was because he had to to avoid the collision, however there is no actual contact.

Does this constitute physcially assisting the runner in returning to the base, and is thus an out, or is it nothing becuase the runner managed to stop in time?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 362
No it doesnt. I know by LL rules they have to make contact in order for interference (and runner being called out). I wouldnt rule it interference, but i would ask the coach to stay in the box, where he belongs. And you kinda answered your own question. "Physically Assisting" was contact made? No.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 03, 2006, 11:35pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by LLPA13UmpDan
No it doesnt. I know by LL rules they have to make contact in order for interference (and runner being called out). I wouldnt rule it interference, but i would ask the coach to stay in the box, where he belongs. And you kinda answered your own question. "Physically Assisting" was contact made? No.
Well, not only would contact need to be made, but that contact would have to actually physically assist the runner in returning to have interference. If the runner just runs into the coach, and knocks the coach down, or they both go down, there is no "assistance" given, and no interference called.

If the coach were to actually push the runner towards the base, or grab him and pull him towards the base, then it is interference. Mere contact alone does not qualify as interference.

You also cannot tell the coach to stay in the box when a play is going on, and a runner is rounding 3rd. Coaches are allowed to leave the box to signal to the base runners. Even before a pitch, the coaches are traditionally allowed to be slightly outside the lines of the coaching boxes, unless the other manager complains, then the base coaches from both teams must stay inside the boxes. But the umpire does not go out of his way to enforce this without prior complaint from either team.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25

Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Thu Aug 03, 2006 at 11:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 01:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 362
Steve, read 4.05 (3) LL rules And on the coaches interference, If the contact is intentional i believe the runner can be called out. I've seen runners called out for making contact w/ the coach while running. I'll look it up to be double sure.

Last edited by LLPA13UmpDan; Fri Aug 04, 2006 at 01:57am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 02:08am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
You mentioned LL rules, not the original poster who asked the question. Why would you assume the umpires at this board are comprised of mostly Little League umpires? I speak in terms of OBR rules unless otherwise stated.

Take a look in the Official Baseball Rules book for the proper answer to the question. Rule 4.05 does not have a (3). It has an (a) and a (b). It also has casebook comments following which state exactly what I was saying (emphasis added):

Rule 4.05 Comment: It has been common practice for many years for some coaches to put one foot outside the coach’s box or stand astride or otherwise be slightly outside the coaching box lines. The coach shall not be considered out of the box unless the opposing manager complains, and then, the umpire shall strictly enforce the rule and require all coaches (on both teams) to remain in the coach’s box at all times.

It is also common practice for a coach who has a play at his base to leave the coach’s box to signal the player to slide, advance or return to a base. This may be allowed if the coach does not interfere with the play in any manner.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 02:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 362
Sorry Steve, but im kinda like u, instead...i assume LL unless otherwise stated Oops.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 02:32am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by LLPA13UmpDan
Steve, read 4.05 (3) LL rules And on the coaches interference, If the contact is intentional i believe the runner can be called out. I've seen runners called out for making contact w/ the coach while running. I'll look it up to be double sure.
You may have seen runners called out for simply making contact, but what you saw was the umpire kicking the call. If the coach is trying to stop a runner by physically holding him or grabbing him or tackling him, is different than just getting plowed into by an out of control runner.

The umpire has to have good enough judgment to tell the difference between a train wreck (legal) and actually rendering assistance to the baserunner (illegal).

Unless the starter of the thread or topic specifically mentions LL rules, or FED rules, or NCAA rules, it is safe to assume we are discussing pro rules, commonly known as OBR. Feel free to ask questions, but when providing answers, make sure you are using the right rule book first.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 05:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 38
I'm sorry, I should have specified OBR.

Steve, In a sitch like this, don't you feel that the contact, if made, would contstitute a physical assist. We are talking about a coach deliberately placing himself in front of the runner to stop the runner. This would not be a train wreck or an accident, this would be deliberate contact designed to stop the runner from advancing and force them to return to third.

"It is also common practice for a coach who has a play at his base to leave the coach’s box to signal the player to slide, advance or return to a base. This may be allowed if the coach does not interfere with the play in any manner."

I guess to me the coach was interfering with the play in some manner. He moved in front of the runner.

Dan, One could argue that his moving to block the base bath was a physical act vs. a verbal act. Therefore he was physically assisting without actually touching.

My question should have been, Is there any official interp or AO or case play that defines physically assist as requiring contact, or does the physical act of deliberately blocking the runners path so that it is physically impossible for them to proceed qualify as physically assisting?

I can see both sides of the argument, but didn't know what info was out there that I just don't have or know about.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost of Coach's Box Airborne! Basketball 8 Mon Jan 30, 2006 08:15pm
coach's interference NavyCoach Baseball 8 Wed Jun 15, 2005 01:35pm
Coach's Tip-Off parepat Football 4 Wed Nov 05, 2003 06:30pm
Coach's Box Barry C. Morris Basketball 14 Thu Sep 13, 2001 03:32pm
Coach's BS oppool Softball 4 Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1