The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 29, 2006, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Hello Fellow Officials! Saturday night I had a HS varsity girls game and here's a situation: Player A1 commits a common personal foul (her 4th) and in her displeasure she uses some vulgar language towards Player B1 and the calling referee. Of course, a Tech was assessed during this "dead-ball" segment, but before the common foul was reported to the table. Once reported the table reports to the reporting referee it was her 5th foul now with the "T" and was properly reported to the coach at that point. The coach appropriately provided a sub and the disqualified player became bench personnel. This all occurred in the 1st half. We got together initially and determined that the coach should sit for the duration of the game. Half time we had further discussion on it and concluded that the coach should not be penalized and lose the "box" because the player had not become "bench personnel" at the time of the "T" due to being her 5th foul. Would appreciate any feedback whether or not this was proper in allowing the coach to resume coaching in his designated "box". Thanks!
__________________
Airborne
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 29, 2006, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Read Case Play 4.14.1 Situation B. It covers your play.

The bottom line is that the player does not become bench personnel until you notify the coach so the coach does not lose the coaching box privileges in your case.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Airborne!
Hello Fellow Officials! Saturday night I had a HS varsity girls game and here's a situation: Player A1 commits a common personal foul (her 4th) and in her displeasure she uses some vulgar language towards Player B1 and the calling referee. Of course, a Tech was assessed during this "dead-ball" segment, but before the common foul was reported to the table. Once reported the table reports to the reporting referee it was her 5th foul now with the "T" and was properly reported to the coach at that point. The coach appropriately provided a sub and the disqualified player became bench personnel. This all occurred in the 1st half. We got together initially and determined that the coach should sit for the duration of the game. Half time we had further discussion on it and concluded that the coach should not be penalized and lose the "box" because the player had not become "bench personnel" at the time of the "T" due to being her 5th foul. Would appreciate any feedback whether or not this was proper in allowing the coach to resume coaching in his designated "box". Thanks!
If the T was her 5th foul, and not her 6th, and the sub was sent in because of the 5 fouls, then she wasn't bench personnel when the T was committed, so the coach doesn't lose the box.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 01:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
If the T was her 5th foul, and not her 6th, and the sub was sent in because of the 5 fouls, then she wasn't bench personnel when the T was committed, so the coach doesn't lose the box.
Juulie, that still doesn't matter. Even if the personal foul was the player's fifth foul and the T was her sixth, she still isn't bench personnel until the coach is notified that the player is DQ'd. That notification process can't very well take place until the table crew has alerted the game official that the player has committed the fifth foul. So in either case, the player was not bench personnel and the head coach isn't charged an indirect T.

Airborne, you and your partner originally goofed by sitting the coach, but did the right thing by correcting the situation and allowing him to have the coaching box for the second half. Be honest, admit your mistakes, and you will do just fine.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
If the T was her 5th foul, and not her 6th, and the sub was sent in because of the 5 fouls, then she wasn't bench personnel when the T was committed, so the coach doesn't lose the box.
Juulie, that still doesn't matter. Even if the personal foul was the player's fifth foul and the T was her sixth, she still isn't bench personnel until the coach is notified that the player is DQ'd. That notification process can't very well take place until the table crew has alerted the game official that the player has committed the fifth foul. So in either case, the player was not bench personnel and the head coach isn't charged an indirect T.

Airborne, you and your partner originally goofed by sitting the coach, but did the right thing by correcting the situation and allowing him to have the coaching box for the second half. Be honest, admit your mistakes, and you will do just fine.

We're both right Nevada. I'm not saying that the notification didn't matter. I'm saying she wasn't bench personnel when she received the T, and that they shouldn't have "sat" the coach.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Ahh, not unlike the 4 point play (being fouled on a good three pointer). I bet getting 6 fouls doesn't happen very often.

__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
I had a 4 point play last Thursday. The highlight of a crappy week of games. This week will be better though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 07:36pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy
Ahh, not unlike the 4 point play (being fouled on a good three pointer). I bet getting 6 fouls doesn't happen very often.

Had a summer tournament game played with a combination of NCAA/Pro rules where a guy picked up his 6th (disqualifying) foul followed by a direct T for his 7th foul.

something I hope to never see again.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball 76 Softball 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,188
I've had 2 4 point play attempts this year, but one I know of the kid didn't make the free throw. I don't remember what happened on the other one. I just remember the awkwardness of counting a basket on a foul, then signaling 3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1