Base on Balls - Where does Free Pass end?
Topic of discussion with fellow umpires. When a batter receives a base on balls, where does his free pass end? In Dixie Youth league it states a walk will be treated as a base hit. This would mean that the batter can run through the base or overrun the base will no putout being made if he was tagged after touching the base. (This of course would assume he did not round the base & make an attempt on to 2B).
Some thought that batter was only allowed free pass to first base. Therefore any action beyond the touch of the base would allow him be tagged out (including running through the base).
Any thoughts or reference to any rule is appreciated.
CMorvant
|