View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 08:34am
Tim C Tim C is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
tibear

Almost correct, grasshopper.

In most rules codes the runner can, indeed, overrun in this situation --

However --

National Federation of High Schools's rules have a different view.

Play:

None on and none out.

Batter has a count of 3-2 . . .

Next pitch is a "checked/unchecked swing" situation with the ball in the dirt.

Ball rolls away from F2 as batter-runner takes off for first.

Catcher quickly fires to F3 but the throw arrives late as batter-runner sprints through the base into short right field making NO ATTEMPT at advancing.

F3 (for some unknown reason) tags batter-runner before he can return to the base.

Catcher now appeals to the PU to ask for help on the "checked/unchecked swing" situation.

At FEDlandia level we are now faced with the following:

IF the BU rules "Yes, he went!" (which would be kinda like calling him "out") he is now safe at first as he beat the throw.

IF the BU rules "No, he did not go!" (which would be kinda like calling him "safe") he is now out at first because FED DOES NOT ALLOW an overrun on ball four.

Kind of wierd but has been documented numerous time on this and other umpire websites.

Regards,
Reply With Quote