The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Base on Balls - Where does Free Pass end?

Topic of discussion with fellow umpires. When a batter receives a base on balls, where does his free pass end? In Dixie Youth league it states a walk will be treated as a base hit. This would mean that the batter can run through the base or overrun the base will no putout being made if he was tagged after touching the base. (This of course would assume he did not round the base & make an attempt on to 2B).

Some thought that batter was only allowed free pass to first base. Therefore any action beyond the touch of the base would allow him be tagged out (including running through the base).

Any thoughts or reference to any rule is appreciated.

CMorvant
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
What if

Ball four, catcher mis-handles the ball and the batter takes off like a scalded jack rabbit thinking he might get two bases. Near first base the coach has up the stop sign....catcher is quick like a cat...retreived the ball like a lab and is ready to gun him down if he tries anything funny.

Does the runner have to stop on a dime at first base?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
The runner has the right to overrun first regardless of the manner in which he obtains the base. As long as he makes no effort towards second, he is free to return to first without liability of being tagged out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
tibear

Almost correct, grasshopper.

In most rules codes the runner can, indeed, overrun in this situation --

However --

National Federation of High Schools's rules have a different view.

Play:

None on and none out.

Batter has a count of 3-2 . . .

Next pitch is a "checked/unchecked swing" situation with the ball in the dirt.

Ball rolls away from F2 as batter-runner takes off for first.

Catcher quickly fires to F3 but the throw arrives late as batter-runner sprints through the base into short right field making NO ATTEMPT at advancing.

F3 (for some unknown reason) tags batter-runner before he can return to the base.

Catcher now appeals to the PU to ask for help on the "checked/unchecked swing" situation.

At FEDlandia level we are now faced with the following:

IF the BU rules "Yes, he went!" (which would be kinda like calling him "out") he is now safe at first as he beat the throw.

IF the BU rules "No, he did not go!" (which would be kinda like calling him "safe") he is now out at first because FED DOES NOT ALLOW an overrun on ball four.

Kind of wierd but has been documented numerous time on this and other umpire websites.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Tim-

I agree with your rulings on the previous post.

Does anybody know the logic that the NFHS rules committee is using behind this particular code? Do they do these things just to be different?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks for the replies. TimC, do you know where FED references 'you can not overrun on ball four'. I can't seem to find that in either the rule book or case book.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
The PU BETTER have been checking that check swing LONG before there is a play at first base!!! With 2 strikes, they don't even need to ask me to "ask for help", I am asking for it all on my own, and precisely for the above stated reason by Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 07:16pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
Does anybody know the logic that the NFHS rules committee is using behind this particular code? Do they do these things just to be different?
"NFHS rules" and "logic" don't belong in the same sentence.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the Call? Base on Balls MajorDave Baseball 38 Mon Apr 17, 2006 12:35am
Overrruning first on a base on balls Jay R Baseball 10 Fri Jul 29, 2005 07:31am
Running Base on Balls BoomerSooner Baseball 3 Tue May 17, 2005 12:53pm
base on balls twhidd Baseball 6 Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:27pm
Base on balls, then continue to second rafking Softball 2 Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1