![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
|
Tim is right, the rules don't exactly specify what 'passed' is, so JEA, J/R, et al have 'interpreted' this to mean within a 'step and reach' of the fielder. I think the test question was worded as 'diving first baseman' exactly so as to call that interp into play....thus making Dave and Rich correct.
If the fielder dives and still has no play on the batted ball, then by settled interp the 'passed' part of the rule does not apply. Interference, runner out. |
|
|||
|
That is all fine and good, but "immediately" IS something listed in the rule book. There is NOWHERE in the rule book that states "within a step", or "within reach", and for very good obvious reasons! Immediately is FAR less of a judgement than "withing a step", or "within reach". FAR too many factors come into play!
Doesn't matter here though. Simply, eofficial got this wrong. I stand by that 110%! I will NEVER call this the way they list it, unless the rule book was changed to reflect this scenario as described. I still might quit after that, or simply ignore the rule, because it would be a horsecrap call to have to make! |
|
|||
|
There is also precedent on what "passed" means, and this comes from a batted ball touching an umpire before it has "passed" an infielder. If this batted ball touched an umpire, what would your call be?
I can tell you with certainty that precedent with other rulings come into play here more than some "interpretation" on a ruling that has no precedent!
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Wait I found it... 7.09 (k)A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference. PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead. Consider this... if the fielder dives for the ball and misses the ball (distance of miss is unknown) and his dive carries his body in front of the runner then the fielder is now "immediately" back of him. I think that the key questions here are "Did another infielder have a chance to make a play?" or "Did the runner deliberately and intentionally kick the ball on which the infielder has missed a play?" It would seem that interference would be a tough call to make if the infielder dove for the ball, missed it by a foot or two and then the runner was hit by the ball when no other infielder could have made a play. JMHO Last edited by Justme; Wed Jul 05, 2006 at 09:56am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
|
You see, I like how ALL of this talks about a runner/fielder in proximity of each other, but DOES NOT deal with the actual play described.
There is NOWHERE, and NOTHING in the rule book that supports the ruling the way eofficial describes it! Runner one step off of second base, infielders are playing in, and a line drive batted ball hits the runner. You are going to call him out? You better cock your ejection finger! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
R3 and R1, first baseman is playing "in" (several feet in front of R1, who is leading off). The batter hits a hard grounder to the first baseman's right. He cannot touch it and it strikes R1. The second baseman had no chance of fielding the ball: no interference The ball is live. I think the key in the eofficials answer verses the Roder ruling is all in how we envision the play. The Roder ruling mentions that the priveledged fielder cannot touch it. The eofficials ruling must have the fielder still being able to reach the ball although it says he cannot make the play. Then this is what's found in the MLBUM. (9) Runner on first base, first baseman positioned in front of the runner. Batter hits a ground ball just outside the reach of the first baseman as the first baseman dives to his right. The ball then strikes the runner. Ruling: In this play the ball is considered having passed by an infielder. The umpire must now judge if another infielder has the chance to make a play on the ball. If the umpire judges yes, then the runner is declared out. If the umpire judges no, the ball is alive and in play. Tim. |
|
|||
|
Re-read the scenario! It just says "dives to his right, but cannot make the play". There is STILL nothing in the rule book that would support interference.
eofficial simply got this wrong. Not sure why. But the rule book is pretty clear that once the ball passes a fielder, and no other fielder has a chance to make a play, it is NOT interference if that ball touches a runner. Nothing about "within a step", or "within reach" of a fielder. |
|
|||
|
There's no need to shout. I read the initial play closely enough that I don't need to re-visit it again, thank you very much. You'll find that we're not in as much disagreement as you might think. I simply have allowed for the possibility that whoever authored the play had the ball still within reach of the fielder when the runner was struck.
Tim. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There is a tremendous amount of history behind this particular interpretation, and I unfortunately do not have the time to detail it right now. The short story is, the "string theory" which Jaksa/Roder orginally supported was the interpretation which came from Nick Bremigan when he was chief instructor for the Brinkman-Froemming (or perhaps it's predecessor) umpire school. Meanwhile, the Evans school was teaching its umpires the alternate, and conflicting interpretation, of "through the legs of or within the immediate reach," a more restrictive interpretation that makes a runner hit by a batted ball out 98 times out of 100. The Evans interpretation is the interpretation that became prevalent throughout professional baseball, and Rick Roder confirmed this fact by his own poll of active MLB umpires a couple of years ago. He said at the time that he would make the appropriate modification in the next edition of his book. I don't know if he did or not. When I get home (I'm travelling at the moment) I'll look in my email archives and see if I can find specific quotes, citations, etc. The poster who is adamantly opposing this ruling speculates that if you call a runner on 2B out when he is hit by a batted ball and the infield is playing in, you better get your ejection finger ready. In truth, the coaches, players and fans to a very, very high degree, all believe in the simple rule that when a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is out. By the Evans interpretation, this is true 99% of the time. I would submit that you would be more likely to have a tension convention if you do NOT kill the ball and call the runner out in that, and most every similar situation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
|
Gentlemen,
The eofficial's question is somewhat ambiguous, because it never says how "close" the ball was to the diving F3 - only that he "..cannot make the play". It also is not clear as to whether the runner was "immediately" behind the F3 at the time he was struck by the fair batted ball. However, the "point" of the question, as I read it, is that the runner is NOT exempt from interference because he is "farther away from home plate than the infielder". He is only exempt if he is immediately back of the infielder and the ball goes through or by that infielder. From the MLBUM we have: Quote:
JM |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Runner Hits Shortstop? What's the call? | softballfan06 | Softball | 6 | Fri Jun 02, 2006 05:51pm |
| Ball Hits Runner?????????????? | slowballbaker | Softball | 7 | Wed Aug 24, 2005 08:31am |
| batter hits ball after hits ground | kfinucan | Softball | 13 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm |
| run scores before ball hits runner | greymule | Softball | 3 | Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:19am |
| Scoring when grounder hits runner | stowelaw | Baseball | 2 | Sun Apr 28, 2002 03:52pm |