The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Do you count the run?

Here's one that's got some associates of mine all flustered (I haven't told them the answer yet):

PLAY: Two outs and a runner on third base when an improper batter is at bat (Frank is batting but Edward is supposed to bat). The batter walks on ball four, a pitch that happens to get away from the catcher. R3 on third trots home on the wild pitch. The defensive manager then comes out to appeal the batting out of order. The umpire grants the appeal, declaring out Edward for not batting in his proper slot, and removes Frank from first base, inning over. Here's the question: do you count R3's run?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 11:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

UMP25,

No.

JM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
I think I intentionally confused many of them by reminding them that advances by runners due to balks or wild pitches when an improper batter is at bat do count. Not that this means the run counts. Just throwing that out there to further confuse the masses.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
I think I intentionally confused many of them by reminding them that advances by runners due to balks or wild pitches when an improper batter is at bat do count. Not that this means the run counts. Just throwing that out there to further confuse the masses.
if the wild pitch happened on ball three and the runner from third scored then the run would of counted? is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Yankeesfan,

That would be absolutely correct.

JM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan
if the wild pitch happened on ball three and the runner from third scored then the run would of counted? is this correct?
Trick question, right? That's NOT correct. The run would HAVE counted.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Trick question, right? That's NOT correct. The run would HAVE counted.
what are you talking about? thats what i said.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 11:58pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
I think I intentionally confused many of them by reminding them that advances by runners due to balks or wild pitches when an improper batter is at bat do count. Not that this means the run counts. Just throwing that out there to further confuse the masses.
That is because R3 scored because he was awarded home on ball four in this case, and not as the result of a wild pitch or a balk. The fact that ball four was also a wild pitch does not mean R3's run counts for this very reason. On proper appeal, R3's run is negated.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

S.D. Steve,

I believe that in UMP25's sitch, the R3 is the only baserunner. Therefore, there is no award to the R3 on the ball 4 (wild) pitch to the batter.

JM
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 12:09am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Man, I'm not reading well lately.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 07:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
WUA has opined on this play. I'm "sure" someone at eteamz has the email
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
WUA has opined on this play. I'm "sure" someone at eteamz has the email
Did they? I don't even remember if I Emailed any of my friends in MLB.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 10:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
OK, now that my evil attempt to sow discord, discontent, and division has been successful (don't underestimate the Power of the Dark Side), here is THE official ruling on this play:

No run.

Pursuant to OBR 4.09(a)(1) and NCAA 5-6-c(1).

Many thanks to my friend Rick Roder for confirming this before I stated it here. Now that I've got half my own association swearing revenge on me for this one, I think it's time to wrap up this specific one.

I KNEW there was a reason I rubbed the nose of my life-size Darth Vader everytime I left in the morning.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 05, 2006, 12:12am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
OK, now that my evil attempt to sow discord, discontent, and division has been successful (don't underestimate the Power of the Dark Side), here is THE official ruling on this play:

No run.

Pursuant to OBR 4.09(a)(1) and NCAA 5-6-c(1).

Many thanks to my friend Rick Roder for confirming this before I stated it here. Now that I've got half my own association swearing revenge on me for this one, I think it's time to wrap up this specific one.

I KNEW there was a reason I rubbed the nose of my life-size Darth Vader everytime I left in the morning.
Your friend Rick contradicts himself, "A runner who advanced for some other reason (wild pickoff throw overthrow, wild pitch, balk) is allowed his advance. 6.07b2".

Your reference to 4.09(a)(1) and 5-6-c(1) would require the coach to come running out of the dugout to appeal the BOO while the catcher is retrieving the pass ball and before the B-R reaches 1B.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 05, 2006, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
No it wouldn't. BTW, the Rick to whom I refer is Rick Roder of the Jaksa/Roder manual. You're making the error of thinking of this as some sort of time play. When it comes down to it, it is an advance that occurred on a play involving a batter not reaching first base for the final out.

No run.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
count run or not dokeeffe Baseball 13 Wed Jan 11, 2006 05:50pm
10 Second Count JLC Basketball 1 Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:54am
10 second count Jay R Basketball 4 Wed Mar 03, 2004 07:47pm
Count it or not ? GA ref Basketball 20 Tue Mar 02, 2004 02:12am
"L" 5 sec. count Bart Tyson Basketball 27 Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1