![]() |
|
|
|||
Re: Are You Thinking, or Just Arguing
I agree with Rich, Tim, et. al.
Rule 7.08(k) reads "In running or sliding for home base, he fails to touch home base and makes no attempt to return to the base, when a fielder holds the ball in his hand, while touching home base, and appeals to the umpire for the decision." The rule clearly states that the he (the runner) must make no attempt to return in order for it to be an appeal play. Rule 7.10(d) reads "He fails to touch home base and makes no attempt to return to that base, and home base is tagged." (referencing an appeal play) 7.10(d) is the rule that governs an appeal play at home and that rule has no "immediate" stipulation in it. It states that an appeal play can be made if no attempt to return to home is made. Since an attempt to return was being made, a legal appeal cannot be made and the runner must be tagged. You cannot invoke 7.08(k) in this instance because the play in which "F2, who now steps on the plate" is attempting an appeal at home which is governed by 7.10(d) Quote:
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|