The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2004, 08:45am
EMD EMD is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 62
Question

Bob, how can the runner illegally screw the F1???? Now the BR can, stepping out etc......, but R1??? Tell us, please............... [/B][/QUOTE]

4.06(a)(3) (and the equivalent FED and NCAA rules) applies to runners, doesn't it? [/B][/QUOTE]

If this rule applies to the runner, would it apply to the base coach? What would you do in the following situation:

Left handed pitcher, runner on third. R3 runs & stops, clap his hand and hollers HEY PITCH!, base coach hopping & swinging arms; everything is timed to happen at same time. Pitcher in the Windup Position, pauses or stops his motion after he is set then delivers the ball home. Did R3 & base coach create the balk, YES. However, by calling this a balk does the umpire give an advantage to the offensive team that would allow them to create situations where the pitcher loses control of his mechanic and create a unintentional error? I would think the offensive is bending the rule to gain an advantage and you would not call this a balk. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1