The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 24, 2004, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Teacherspit wrote: "When the pitcher stepped off the back of the rubber he becomes a fielder. The balk is no longer an option." Garth Benham replied: "...but still, by rule, he is referred to as a pitcher."

Of course, as we all know, teacherspit is right. The OBR is quite clear and unambiguous: "If the pitcher removes his pivot foot from contact with the pitcher's plate by stepping backward with that foot, he thereby becomes an infielder.... (8.01e) Benham says F1 is still "referred to as a pitcher." That's not what the OBR says.

It's not an important point in terms of the thread. Rich Fronheiser has carefully answered those questions:

(1) The pitcher may throw from the rubber to an unoccupied base if it's for the purpose of making an appeal.

(2) The defense does not have to announce the appeal in advance.

(3) The umpire who called the balk, as described in the original thread, was simply wrong.

But Mr. Benham, for whatever reason, took a poster to task for stating a fact. It's important that Forum Big Dogs don't dismiss other posters without being absolutely sure of their position. The OBR says the pitcher who legally steps off the rubber becomes an infielder. I don't think that leaves much wiggle room.

What do you guys think?
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1