Quote:
Originally posted by tornado
"Once and for all, let's say it right: By RULE (black letter law), he is an infielder. By CONVENTION (ease of designation) he is a pitcher. As a “pitcher” (ease of designation) off the rubber, he may do anything any other infielder may do. But he may not pretend to be a pitcher."
What if...
After a double with runners on and the infielders have covered their bases and the pitcher backed up a base, f1 goes to third base & f5 goes to the mound. He then pretends to be the pitcher, goes into a set off the rubber & somehow picks off a runner. What's the call?
|
Tornado:
That's an easy one, right? The "infielder" cannot pretend to be a pitcher off the rubber. Coming to a stop is a motion habitually connected with a pitcher in the set position. Balk!
Now, if F5 steps onto the rubber, since the ball is alive, he IS now the pitcher: an unannounced substitute. When he picks off the runner at third, if it's the third out, he doesn't have to pitch to a batter. If it's not, he must stay on the mound until one batter completes his at bat.
It's an interesting play but only if F5 steps onto the rubber.
[Edited by Carl Childress on Jul 25th, 2004 at 09:33 AM]