The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2004, 07:23am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by CVLLBlue
Babe Ruth 13-15 yr olds. Runner on 2nd. F1 spins on pivot foot towards 2B as R2 breaks towards 3B. R2 stops 1/2 way to 3B and Pitcher, without disengaging from the rubber, and pumps his arm with the ball three or 4 times trying to get R2 to commit in one direction.

I know that F1 does not have to throw the ball to 2B. Does that give him the right to stand on the rubber and feint a throw?

I was an observer at this game so no call on my part. I think it was a balk when F1 did not disengage and still as, a pitcher, was deceiving R2 by pumping his arm. Neither the PU or BU called it.

What's the call?

It is a balk if a pitcher steps (ie, steps and throws, or steps and feints a throw, or steps only) to an unoccupied base unless a runner is advancing toward and trying to acquire such base.

What was the free foot doing? Still planted or was direction and distance being applied?

mick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1