The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   balk towards 2nd base (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/13781-balk-towards-2nd-base.html)

CVLLBlue Fri May 21, 2004 11:50pm

Babe Ruth 13-15 yr olds. Runner on 2nd. F1 spins on pivot foot towards 2B as R2 breaks towards 3B. R2 stops 1/2 way to 3B and Pitcher, without disengaging from the rubber, and pumps his arm with the ball three or 4 times trying to get R2 to commit in one direction.

I know that F1 does not have to throw the ball to 2B. Does that give him the right to stand on the rubber and feint a throw?

I was an observer at this game so no call on my part. I think it was a balk when F1 did not disengage and still as, a pitcher, was deceiving R2 by pumping his arm. Neither the PU or BU called it.

What's the call?


nickrego Sat May 22, 2004 12:16am

I’ve got nothing also.

The pitcher’s back is to the plate, he gained distance and direction towards 2nd, he is facing the runner. Sounds like he is not trying to deceive the runner to me.

Under the above circumstances, the pitcher is allowed to feint a throw to 2nd. The book doesn’t actually say he can only feint once.

Carl Childress Sat May 22, 2004 05:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by CVLLBlue
Babe Ruth 13-15 yr olds. Runner on 2nd. F1 spins on pivot foot towards 2B as R2 breaks towards 3B. R2 stops 1/2 way to 3B and Pitcher, without disengaging from the rubber, and pumps his arm with the ball three or 4 times trying to get R2 to commit in one direction.

I know that F1 does not have to throw the ball to 2B. Does that give him the right to stand on the rubber and feint a throw?

I was an observer at this game so no call on my part. I think it was a balk when F1 did not disengage and still as, a pitcher, was deceiving R2 by pumping his arm. Neither the PU or BU called it.

What's the call?


I I I T B T S B.

mick Sat May 22, 2004 07:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by CVLLBlue
Babe Ruth 13-15 yr olds. Runner on 2nd. F1 spins on pivot foot towards 2B as R2 breaks towards 3B. R2 stops 1/2 way to 3B and Pitcher, without disengaging from the rubber, and pumps his arm with the ball three or 4 times trying to get R2 to commit in one direction.

I know that F1 does not have to throw the ball to 2B. Does that give him the right to stand on the rubber and feint a throw?

I was an observer at this game so no call on my part. I think it was a balk when F1 did not disengage and still as, a pitcher, was deceiving R2 by pumping his arm. Neither the PU or BU called it.

What's the call?


It is <U>a balk</U> if a pitcher steps (ie, steps and throws, or steps and feints a throw, or steps only) to an unoccupied base <font color = red>unless a runner is advancing toward and trying to acquire such base</font>.

What was the free foot doing? Still planted or was direction and distance being applied?

mick

GarthB Sat May 22, 2004 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick

It is <U>a balk</U> if a pitcher steps (ie, steps and throws, or steps and feints a throw, or steps only) to an unoccupied base <font color = red>unless a runner is advancing toward and trying to acquire such base</font>.

What was the free foot doing? Still planted or was direction and distance being applied?

mick

Since he turned towards <b>second</b> and feinted, which was the last legally occupied base of the runner at the time, why does this matter?

[Edited by GarthB on May 22nd, 2004 at 02:38 PM]

mick Sat May 22, 2004 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by GarthB
Quote:

Originally posted by mick

It is <U>a balk</U> if a pitcher steps (ie, steps and throws, or steps and feints a throw, or steps only) to an unoccupied base <font color = red>unless a runner is advancing toward and trying to acquire such base</font>.

What was the free foot doing? Still planted or was direction and distance being applied?

mick

Since he turned towards <b>second</b> and feinted, which was the last legally occupied base of the runner at the time, why does this matter?


Feint, no step ---> balk.

Carl Childress Sat May 22, 2004 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by GarthB
Quote:

Originally posted by mick

It is <U>a balk</U> if a pitcher steps (ie, steps and throws, or steps and feints a throw, or steps only) to an unoccupied base <font color = red>unless a runner is advancing toward and trying to acquire such base</font>.

What was the free foot doing? Still planted or was direction and distance being applied?

mick

Since he turned towards <b>second</b> and feinted, which was the last legally occupied base of the runner at the time, why does this matter?


Mick: The original poster said that "F1 spins on pivot foot towards 2B." I have a hard time visualizing a right-handed pitcher spinning around on his right foot around toward second without "stepping."

In 50 seasons of umpiring I have never seen an experienced umpire call a balk on a move to second. In fact...

IIITOTSB!

Feint, no step ---> balk.


jicecone Sat May 22, 2004 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by GarthB
Quote:

Originally posted by mick

It is <U>a balk</U> if a pitcher steps (ie, steps and throws, or steps and feints a throw, or steps only) to an unoccupied base <font color = red>unless a runner is advancing toward and trying to acquire such base</font>.

What was the free foot doing? Still planted or was direction and distance being applied?

mick

Since he turned towards <b>second</b> and feinted, which was the last legally occupied base of the runner at the time, why does this matter?


Feint, no step ---> balk.


Mick, Papa C has given you a hint. please decipher.
"I I I T B T S B" , "I I I T B T S B", I I I T B T S B".



mick Sat May 22, 2004 02:44pm

Aaaaargh !
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:

Originally posted by mick


Mick: The original poster said that "F1 spins on pivot foot towards 2B." I have a hard time visualizing a right-handed pitcher spinning around on his right foot around toward second without "stepping."

In 50 seasons of umpiring I have never seen an experienced umpire call a balk on a move to second. In fact...

IIITOTSB!

Feint, no step ---> balk.

[/B][/QUOTE]


Carl and Garth,
I see said the blind carpenter as he picked up his hammer and saw.
He stepped when he spun. I was thinkin' it coulda been a right-hander upper body turn/twist/feint thingy.
Couldn't see that from U.P. here. ;)
Thanks,
mick

<HR>

Yes, jicecone, it is impossible.... :)



WillSun Tue May 25, 2004 12:47pm

I think it depends on if the foot left the rubber or not. In Dixie Boys, it would be a balk if the pitcher, from the stretch, was set, and then spun around with foot still planted on rubber and only faked a throw. If he stepped off the rubber, he could do the macarena and it wouldn't be a balk.

Carl Childress Tue May 25, 2004 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WillSun
I think it depends on if the foot left the rubber or not. In Dixie Boys, it would be a balk if the pitcher, from the stretch, was set, and then spun around with foot still planted on rubber and only faked a throw. If he stepped off the rubber, he could do the macarena and it wouldn't be a balk.
Coach: Not to put too fine a point on it: You're just wrong.

WillSun Tue May 25, 2004 01:08pm

On which point?
Are you saying the pitcher doesn't have to remove the foot from the rubber?

GarthB Tue May 25, 2004 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WillSun
On which point?
Are you saying the pitcher doesn't have to remove the foot from the rubber?

I don't speak for Carl, but, yep, I'm betting that's what he's saying.

In another thread someone said Dixie plays by OBR. Can you find anything there that supports your position?

WillSun Tue May 25, 2004 01:16pm

Is it only when faking to 2b? If a right handed pitcher faked to 3b without removing foot from pitching plate, it would be called a balk every time...

David B Tue May 25, 2004 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WillSun
I think it depends on if the foot left the rubber or not. In Dixie Boys, it would be a balk if the pitcher, from the stretch, was set, and then spun around with foot still planted on rubber and only faked a throw. If he stepped off the rubber, he could do the macarena and it wouldn't be a balk.
Not to be redundant, but coach please give us the reference that says the F1 must be off the rubber to fake to second?

And if he could spin and keep his foot on the rubber, he'd probably need therapy for a dislocated hip.

Thanks
David


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1