The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 14, 2019, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 80
Overthrow on tag up

0 out, runner on 1 and 3.

Fly ball catch, upon returning the 3rd, the centerfielder throws the ball into the dugout BEFORE the runner returned to the bag.

I know the runner gets one base for the overthrow... but is it the same in this case since he was returning to 3rd for his tag up?

What would happen if the runner crossed home plate and went to the dugout and the throw went into the dugout? does that run then count because of overthrow and deadball?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 14, 2019, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
0 out, runner on 1 and 3.

Fly ball catch, upon returning the 3rd, the centerfielder throws the ball into the dugout BEFORE the runner returned to the bag.

I know the runner gets one base for the overthrow... but is it the same in this case since he was returning to 3rd for his tag up?

What would happen if the runner crossed home plate and went to the dugout and the throw went into the dugout? does that run then count because of overthrow and deadball?
What you know just ain't so. Runners get two bases when a throw (other than from a pitcher in contact (or considered in contact) with the rubber) goes out of play.

And, it's two bases from the base last legally touched -- so it doesn't matter whether the runner is advancing or returning.

So, yes, let the runner re-touch the base. Under OBR, he can retouch, even if he's past the plate when the ball goes out of play, but once the runner enters the dugout, he's prohibited from doing so. If the runner touches the plate *after* the ball goes out of play, he's prohibited from legally returning. Under FED, the runner is prohibited from legally returning if he's beyond home at any time once the ball goes out of play.

If the runner fails to legally retouch third, the run still counts, but can be cancelled and the runner declared out if the defense makes a legal appeal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overthrow Tru_in_Blu Softball 9 Thu Mar 06, 2014 03:18pm
Overthrow during a walk chuck chopper Softball 6 Thu May 16, 2013 04:14pm
overthrow Bill Magley Softball 28 Fri Oct 24, 2008 07:27am
Overthrow SRW Softball 7 Mon Jul 04, 2005 08:36am
ASA 10U Overthrow sprivitor Softball 7 Sun May 25, 2003 11:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1