The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2017, 04:14pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
As I understand the OP, the question is about the location of the ball versus position of the fielder. OBR Rule 5.06(b)(4)(H) addresses a ball thrown by the pitcher from his position on the pitcher's plate to a base to catch a runner going into DBT. Under this rule, if the ball never went into DBT, the call was wrong.

I don't know about Fed rules.

Parenthetically, the OBR rule regarding "catch and carry" of fly balls was amended a year ago. Now, once a fielder "steps or falls into" DBT, the ball is dead. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) and Comment.

Now that I think about it, if the ball did go into DBT under the circumstances as described in the OP, the award would be two bases. Rule 5.06(b)(4)(H) Approved Ruling.

Last edited by LRZ; Tue May 23, 2017 at 01:26am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you think of this ruling? Nevadaref Basketball 20 Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:47am
OBR Ruling Dentonump Baseball 11 Fri Jun 24, 2005 02:16pm
HELP WITH A RULING jason181988 Baseball 12 Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm
ruling? refTN Basketball 3 Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:58pm
What is the Ruling? Metrodom Basketball 15 Mon Jan 26, 2004 08:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1