The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2017, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Need another ruling

Tonight in a 12u travel league game we had the following situation:
Runner on first base.
Pitcher attempts pick off R1, the ball gets by the first baseman and hits the fence near the dugout that is in play (where the 2 previous pickoff attempts went) The ball is in play. The first baseman hustles over and grabs the live ball and while doing so his right foot slides into dead ball territory. The ump calls a dead ball and awards runner 2b? Is this the correct call?
The ball never went into dead ball territory.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2017, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Send a message via Yahoo to rcaverly
Under what rules was the game being played?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2017, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
"A fielder may, after securing possession of the ball, step or go into Dead Ball Territory, other than a spectator area, with one or both feet and if he holds the ball and not fall down, the catch shall be legal and the ball is live"
This comes from the Wendelstedt manual under catch and carry in OBR and I think it will apply in the OP's situation.
Am not sure if this is the same in Federation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2017, 04:14pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
As I understand the OP, the question is about the location of the ball versus position of the fielder. OBR Rule 5.06(b)(4)(H) addresses a ball thrown by the pitcher from his position on the pitcher's plate to a base to catch a runner going into DBT. Under this rule, if the ball never went into DBT, the call was wrong.

I don't know about Fed rules.

Parenthetically, the OBR rule regarding "catch and carry" of fly balls was amended a year ago. Now, once a fielder "steps or falls into" DBT, the ball is dead. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) and Comment.

Now that I think about it, if the ball did go into DBT under the circumstances as described in the OP, the award would be two bases. Rule 5.06(b)(4)(H) Approved Ruling.

Last edited by LRZ; Tue May 23, 2017 at 01:26am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2017, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
"A fielder may, after securing possession of the ball, step or go into Dead Ball Territory, other than a spectator area, with one or both feet and if he holds the ball and not fall down, the catch shall be legal and the ball is live"
This comes from the Wendelstedt manual under catch and carry in OBR and I think it will apply in the OP's situation.
Am not sure if this is the same in Federation.
What year is your WUM?
In 2016 OBR "Amended Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) and 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment regarding a fielder stepping or falling into an out-of-play area."

"(C) A fielder, after catching a fly ball, steps or falls
into any out-of-play area;"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2017, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
What year is your WUM?
In 2016 OBR "Amended Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) and 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment regarding a fielder stepping or falling into an out-of-play area."

"(C) A fielder, after catching a fly ball, steps or falls
into any out-of-play area;"
2015.
So--if he steps into DBT with one or 2 feet it is now a dead ball?
But should' it just be a one base award?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 22, 2017, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
2015.
So--if he steps into DBT with one or 2 feet it is now a dead ball?
But should' it just be a one base award?
The "catch" portion of the rule presents a semantic problem but I think if a fielder with a ball steps into dead ball territory it would be 1 base.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you think of this ruling? Nevadaref Basketball 20 Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:47am
OBR Ruling Dentonump Baseball 11 Fri Jun 24, 2005 02:16pm
HELP WITH A RULING jason181988 Baseball 12 Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm
ruling? refTN Basketball 3 Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:58pm
What is the Ruling? Metrodom Basketball 15 Mon Jan 26, 2004 08:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1