The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 89
Bases awarded

Just want to make sure I am reading the rules right.

R1 on first. F1 comes set and a) legally makes a pickoff move to first b) steps off the pitchers plate and then throws to first base. In both cases, the ball goes into deadball territory.


A) runner is awarded 2nd base
B) runner is awarded 3rd base


Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Send a message via Yahoo to rcaverly
Like Big Ed would say, "You are correct, Johnny."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Once the pitcher steps off the rubber he is an infielder, so the award is 2 bases from time of pitch.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 08:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 996
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
Once the pitcher steps off the rubber he is an infielder, so the award is 2 bases from time of pitch.
? Hmm
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
? Hmm
Hmmm what? It's true. See 5.06(b )(4)(G); 5.06(b )(4)(H); 5.07(e )
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Hmmm what? It's true. See 5.06(b )(4)(G); 5.06(b )(4)(H); 5.07(e )
It is true. Per the previous pitch. But Hmmmm, how would we rule if R1 stoled 2B and F1 sailed a pickoff over 2B and through the center fielder's legs and the gate in centerfield? Unlikely of course. And the same sitch with R2 stealing 3B, more likely but who cares. Two bases from 2B is all he needs.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
It is true. Per the previous pitch. But Hmmmm, how would we rule if R1 stole 2B and F1 sailed a pick-off over 2B and through the center fielder's legs and the gate in center field? Unlikely of course. And the same sitch with R2 stealing 3B, more likely but who cares. Two bases from 2B is all he needs.
One or two bases depending if in contact or not - time of throw.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2017, 06:25am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
"One from the rubber, two from the field."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2017, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Hmmm what? It's true. See 5.06(b )(4)(G); 5.06(b )(4)(H); 5.07(e )
I think he was (properly) questioning the use of the word "pitch" in conjunction with F1 who threw to first base. It should have been "time of throw."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2017, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think he was (properly) questioning the use of the word "pitch" in conjunction with F1 who threw to first base. It should have been "time of throw."
Thanks Bob!

TOT, not TOP!
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2017, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
OBR has time of pitch and TOT awards for awarded bases.
Since the first throw by an infielder is awarded from time of pitch would this not also apply to the pitcher, even though no pitch was thrown?
You are referencing a batted ball.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2017, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
You are referencing a batted ball.
507 (e) Comment:
The pitcher, while off the rubber, may throw to any base. If he makes a wild throw, such throw is the throw of an infielder, and what follows is governed by the rules covering a ball thrown by a fielder."

8.01 (e)
If the pitcher removes his pivot foot from contact with the pitcher's plate by stepping backwards with that foot, he hereby becomes an infielder and if he makes a wild throw from that position, it shall be considered the same as a wild throw by ANY other infielder" (emphasis mine)

Ok--show me where the rules state that the first play by an infielder that goes wild is two bases from Time of Throw?
Yes, I am quibbling but with 50% of my games rained out since March 21rst what else do I have time to do?

Last edited by MT 73; Tue Apr 25, 2017 at 07:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 26, 2017, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post

Ok--show me where the rules state that the first play by an infielder that goes wild is two bases from Time of Throw?
Yes, I am quibbling but with 50% of my games rained out since March 21rst what else do I have time to do?
Nobody can show you that. Nobody claimed that was the rule. We are saying that a pick-off throw by the pitcher is a TOT award, not a TOP award.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 26, 2017, 09:22am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 766
MT73, how could it be TOP when there is no pitch?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 26, 2017, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
MT73, FED 8-3-5 defines first play by an infielder to be a play on a batted ball.

So F1 who steps off and overthrows is not a "first Play" situation with TOP, but rather TOT for any fielder making a throw which is not first play by an infielder on a batted ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bases Awarded Question JFlores Baseball 3 Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:18pm
Bases Awarded?? slowballbaker Baseball 28 Tue Jun 17, 2008 03:49pm
Number of bases awarded? Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Baseball 3 Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:54pm
Out of play bases awarded? jeisch Baseball 12 Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:54am
Awarded bases - hit by pitch Blue316 Baseball 8 Thu Apr 18, 2002 08:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1