The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 12, 2020, 05:52pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
BI on TI

Today's Referee.com case play: BI on a TI, 2 points awarded.

On a TI, A1 throws the ball, which bounces off the rim, and while the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, B1 touches the ball and knocks it away. Ruling: BI and 2 points, because BI does not require a try or tap.

Goaltending does require a try or tap, so if B1 touches the ball before it hits the rim, it's not goaltending because the throw is not a try or a tap.

BI on a throw that, if it went in, would be a violation by the throwing team? If I had this happen in a game, I would have gotten it wrong.

Query: If BI occurs on a TI from beyond the 3-point line, do you award 3 points? Or is this throw considered not "from the field by a player behind" his/her arc?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1