![]() |
|
|||
Misapplication of rule???
Was this handled correctly per NFHS Code.
1 out Bases loaded. B4 hits a shot to outfield for 2nd out runners tag up, play at third for 3rd out. Coach ask "did run count" PU states the runner missed the plate as she passed it so no run. The BU gets together with PU and discusses the play. PU states that the runner crossed the plate before the 3rd out but missed the base but retouched the plate after the 3rd out. BU informs the PU umpire that by rule the Runner is to be considered safe as the Defense did not appeal the missed plate and the fact that the runner came back and touched the plate before a 4th out appeal that the run should in fact score. I was the BU for this game. I belong to 2 HS groups and have been told 2 different things. Is this a correctable misapplication of the rules and was it handled properly.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
Quote:
Either way I have the run scoring as there was no appeal for the runner missing the plate and she did cross the plate prior to the third out on a timing play. |
|
|||
It comes down to a runner is considered to have reached a base that they passed; unless the defense correctly appeals the miss.
Umpires may not rule on an appealable play until asked. Calling a player out for a missed base or a calling a run not counting violates that rule.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
Quote:
I am getting 2 different statements from the 2 HS units I work with.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
What are the specifics of the two versions?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
But is he here? I'm without access to a book at the moment. But I would have said that by fixing the baserunning mistake the point at which the runner scored was when she ACTUALLY touched the plate.
|
|
|||
Yep, if it's a rule interp situation, you as the partner can (discretely) give your opinion, unsolicited, to the calling umpire
if she passed HP before the 3rd out, and no appeal before the retouch, the run counts. |
|
|||
Ok, so the PU screwed up initially by telling the coach that the runner missed the base. He should've kept that to himself. Since the runner passed home before the third out was recorded, then the PU should've answered the question, "Does the run count?" by simply answering "Yes, she reached home before the third out."
Now comes the question that I'm not sure how it's handled in sanctions that allow dead ball appeals. I know that in baseball where only live ball appeals are allowed, a runner can correct a running mistake after three outs are recorded and before a "live" fourth out appeal is attempted. So in this play, if the catcher had said, "Throw the ball home! He missed the plate!", the runner can hustle back to touch home to negate the appeal. In softball, however, I'm not certain since we do allow dead ball appeals. The new rule in NCAA play about when dead ball appeals can be recognized--as soon as it's clear the violating runner has demonstrated no intent to fix a mistake--would support an out call here if the defense announces that they saw the runner miss home. But I don't know how that's handled in NFHS or USA, where supposedly a runner can always correct a mistake until she enters DBT. I also don't know if softball allows for continued base running to correct mistakes after the third out of the inning is recorded. So the fact that this runner passed but missed home on her way forward before the third out, but then returned and corrected her mistake after the third out is called, does that constitute a legal touch of the plate to avoid the fourth out appeal? Or can the defense still request a dead ball appeal to nullify the run?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
We know that, but please comment on this (real world) part of Manny's post.
"But I don't know how that's handled in NFHS or USA, where supposedly a runner can always correct a mistake until she enters DBT. I also don't know if softball allows for continued base running to correct mistakes after the third out of the inning is recorded. So the fact that this runner passed but missed home on her way forward before the third out, but then returned and corrected her mistake after the third out is called, does that constitute a legal touch of the plate to avoid the fourth out appeal? Or can the defense still request a dead ball appeal to nullify the run?"
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I'd think that the runner passing but not touching home is still at risk if the defense appeals.
So if the defense has a chance to get the runner out, it would only seem fair that the runner should have a chance to correct the base running error.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
1 out Bases loaded.
B4 hits a shot to outfield for 2nd out runners tag up, play at third for 3rd out. Coach ask "did run count" PU states the runner missed the plate as she passed it so no run. I would like meet this PU. He is GOOD, REALLY GOOD!!! First he calls catch/no catch, then he watches runner from third tag up(or not), then he watches to see if runner from third tags home, then he makes an out call at third base. My hats off to him. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
USA Softball Ten Second Rule vs. Foot in Box Rule | Manny A | Softball | 9 | Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:21pm |
Rule 5-1-1: Bizarre state rule interpretation? | WestCoaster | Football | 23 | Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:04pm |
UNC Ash v. Syracuse Rule Misapplication | APG | Basketball | 6 | Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:54pm |
Favorite Coach rule misapplication | largeone59 | Baseball | 40 | Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:02am |
Is misapplication of a balk rule protestable? | andrewm | Baseball | 14 | Tue May 03, 2005 06:29am |