The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 19, 2016, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Rule clarification - FT violation

Hey,
I saw something called and I cannot find a governing statement in the rules.
I was hoping someone could provide interpretation, or whether the call was unfounded.

Situation:
First FT out of 2; Shoot has ball.
Opponent lined up between 2 hashes closest to the shoot.
Opponent takes 2 steps BACKWARD (away from the neutral zone).
Is this a violation?
My understanding was "release" was define by entering the neutral zone, but the players' area to occupy extended back a few feet beyond the end of the parallel hash marks.

Anyone point to a rule for this?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule Clarification PIAA REF Basketball 11 Tue Nov 02, 2010 03:06pm
Clarification about Back Court Violation SmokeEater Basketball 8 Tue Feb 27, 2007 04:30pm
Clarification on Backcourt Violation Jack Basketball 12 Tue Feb 14, 2006 03:03pm
Rule 2-10 Clarification Burtis449 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:34am
ASA rule clarification pi010 Softball 4 Mon May 16, 2005 10:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1