The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2014, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
I can't find a NHFS rule or case explanation of this situation, but in the NCAA rulebook there is the following:

13.1.3.2 After being clearly released or tossed from the hand(s) of the server, the ball must be cleanly hit for service. If the service toss contacts any obstruction before contact of the service, the serving team loses the rally.

The USAV rulebook states the following:

12.6.1.2: It is a serving fault if the service toss touches any obstruction before the service contact.

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
But for NFHS, we have 3-4-1d The Ball Contacts any part of a backboard or supports...
PENALTY:
2. When in the judgement of the referee the ball would have rmained in play had the backboard not been over the playable area, a replay is granted.

So if you aren't going to follow the guidance from NCAA/USAV that pavbref noted, then this would be a replay not a re-serve.

8-1-6 calls for a re-serve when: a ball that is release for service and then is caught or allowed to fall to the floor. The definition of re-serve does not include a toss that contacts the wall behind the server or an overhead obstruction like the backboard.

Last edited by john5396; Thu Oct 23, 2014 at 09:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
8-1-6 calls for a re-serve when: a ball that is release for service and then is caught or allowed to fall to the floor. The definition of re-serve does not include a toss that contacts the wall behind the server or an overhead obstruction like the backboard.
Playing devils advocate (I promise I'm not just trolling)... why would you say (without outside definition otherwise) that a ball that hit an obstruction or even the wall behind the server doesn't fall within the definition of "allowed to fall to the floor". To me, that definition includes any serve not struck by the server.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2014, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 22
I guess this is why we sent it to Interp.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball hits bat or bat hits ball xtremeump Softball 32 Mon Sep 29, 2014 09:34pm
Thrower tosses ball to official sseltser Basketball 10 Mon Mar 22, 2010 04:45pm
pitcher tosses glove with ball cviverito Baseball 19 Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:23am
Bat Hits Ball in Box Armadillo_Blue Baseball 8 Wed May 23, 2007 09:05am
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1