The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,743
NCAAW -- Next Server

A1 serves, and A wins the point. A1 serves again, and A wins the point. Now A2 serves and loses the rally. The fact that it's the wrong server is not noticed by the scorer. B1 serves and loses the rally.

Who is the proper next server for A?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 640
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Assuming A2 is on the line after A1, then A2 serves again, this time correctly. Just because she was an incorrect server and the scorekeeper didn't catch it doesn't mean she has now used her opportunity to legally serve.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,743
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 03:05pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Bob, when B1 served, where was A2...RB or RF? In all liklihood, there may have been an overlap on Team A thus negating Team B's LOR.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Bob, when B1 served, where was A2...RB or RF? In all liklihood, there may have been an overlap on Team A thus negating Team B's LOR.
Good point, but it was more of a theoretical question. Assume either A was legal or the violation was also missed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 138
I've never seen anyone go back and penalize a team for overlap in this situation. Not only did you have a potential overlap, but you had a back row player playing front row and possible committing BRA and/or BRB.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2012, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Bob, when B1 served, where was A2...RB or RF? In all liklihood, there may have been an overlap on Team A thus negating Team B's LOR.
So B1 legally contact the serve, but b/c of Team A's illegal alignment, Team A wins the point and the previous point?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2012, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 640
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias View Post
So B1 legally contact the serve, but b/c of Team A's illegal alignment, Team A wins the point and the previous point?
No...Team B wins the rally that they served legally. Only one point involved here. Once B serves, you cannot retroactively sanction A for the incorrect server.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2012, 05:54am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
As Felix indicted, only the point that B1 served is involved. Since A2's serve was a loss of rally, no point for Team A is considered. Once B1 served, A1 is out of rotation (most likely) and B is awarded the point for A's fault. We correct the lineup for A and play on. When B loses rally, A2 will be the next server.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server timeout Volleyball 1 Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:53pm
Improper server refaholic2 Volleyball 3 Sat Sep 05, 2009 02:55am
Unbeckoned server vawils Volleyball 3 Sun Aug 24, 2008 08:38pm
Wrong server kycat1 Volleyball 2 Thu May 24, 2007 03:48pm
wrong server Andy Volleyball 10 Thu Oct 02, 2003 01:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1