The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 07, 2010, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Illegal Alignment?

Here's the question...... Team S, player CB is in the position of RB at the moment of contact on the serve. Illegal Alignment? I am prepared to site references in NFHS rules book and case study. I've gotten an answer from my state association. I'm just looking for another view. THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 07, 2010, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
Because Team S is serving, having the MB in the right back corner is legal. The server is allowed to serve from anywhere in the back, including in the far left corner. If this was not legal, then the server would be overlapped with both the MB and LB players.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 01:44am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
proftd, do you mean that (1) she is on the court near the right sideline or (2) that she is serving instead of the right back? If (1), pavbref gave you the correct answer (see Rule 6-4-3 on page 26 of the current NFHS Rules Book). If (2), it is a wrong server, not illegal alignment.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
MC, I'm referring to #1. This is exactly the rule I'm referring to. I can see including the server in the exemption. They are technically not included in the field of play until after the serve is complete, thus not overlapping anyone, right? One could say CB may interfere with the defense's view of the server. So freaking what? The same could be said about LB but they are not exempt. Now, on pg. 81 of the case manual, the diagram and list completely contradicts this rule. This case states..... "Proper alignment occurs when all players, EXCEPT THE SERVER, are in proper position within the teams playing area". Below in the diagram/list it states player CB "must be aligned with" CF,LB,RB. Now I can understand that somewhere there is some misinformation printed. But, what really puzzles me is what is the logic behind giving the exemption of alignment to CB?

For what it's worth, I ran into 2 veteran officials from my assn. last night and they told me "it's always been that way" and "what? there's a discrepancy in the rules/case books?" (enter chuckle here). So I said this will not be the only discrepancy that drives me nuts?

I've been a player for the last 18 years and officiated recreationally for 14 before coaches talked me into getting registered. I've been registered for 4yrs now. It's the player in me that wants to know why. As an official, I'm just going to nod my head and say ok.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 09:07am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Quote:
Originally Posted by proftd
..."Proper alignment occurs when all players, EXCEPT THE SERVER, are in proper position within the teams playing area". Below in the diagram/list it states player CB "must be aligned with" CF,LB,RB. Now I can understand that somewhere there is some misinformation printed. But, what really puzzles me is what is the logic behind giving the exemption of alignment to CB?
There is no misinformation, You are reading too much to it. See 6-4-3b.
The exemption is given to CB during the serve because the RB is not on the court. Therefore CB cannot be in proper alignment with RB during the serve and is exempted.
The diagram list does not apply to RB & CB during the serve.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
I also agree with what pavbref & Jan have told you. Since the server (RB) may not be on the court at the moment of contact for serve and may serve anywhere along the back line, she is not part of the equation.

Illegal alignment is not related to a specific place on the court, but to a players' postion relative to the players next to or in front/behind them. The only alignment issue you have to worry about for the CB player on the serving team would be her realtionship to the LB and CF players.

There's a really good explanation of alignment in the NFHS case book starting on page 21 - you might want to check it out.......
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!

Last edited by TimTaylor; Fri Oct 08, 2010 at 12:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
DING DING DING DING DING!!!!!!!!! The light bulb just went on. Nobody's home but, the lights are on. Thanks to all! That reference in the case manual really helped there TT. I still had it in my head that a player had to stay in there little "box"(a reference from phys. ed. 20+yrs ago). Amazing what sticks in a person's head, huh? Again, thanks to all! I will finally sleep tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 04:17pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz z!!!!!
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WR - false start vs. illegal motion vs. illegal shift stegenref Football 25 Sat Oct 02, 2010 09:21pm
alignment penalty Roger Greene Volleyball 6 Tue Feb 23, 2010 01:21pm
Free Kick Alignment for Officials (NFHS 5 Man Crew) buckrog64 Football 3 Tue Sep 04, 2007 09:34pm
Difficulty reading alignment violations officialtony Volleyball 7 Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:00pm
New free throw alignment and 1! MOFFICIAL Basketball 14 Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1