The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 18, 2010, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
alignment penalty

NHFS rules apply.

Situation:

Serving team is out of alignment. (Proper server, teamates overlaped somewhere on court.)

Receiving team is out of alignment.

At contact of legal serve, R1 and R2 both whistle for alignment fouls.

What is the correct penalty and your reasoning/rule cite?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 18, 2010, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
I'll take a stab at this before Jan or Felix comes in to give us the correct answer. I would rule this as a double foul occuring during a live ball and award a replay (Rule 9-7-2 with Penalty 2a). I would declare this a live ball under Rule 9-3-1, even though the rules infractions would be occur at the same time, making it a dead ball at that point.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 19, 2010, 10:53am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Nice try and well-reasoned, Bob, but incorrect. Read and learn, Grasshopper!

There are two parts to this situation -

Part 1:
Rule 8-2
ART. 5 . . . A serve is illegal and the ball remains dead if the server:
d. Is out of serving order or is from the wrong team; (Signal 1, Illegal Alignment/Improper Server; 6-3-PENALTY 2)
Part 2:
ART. 7 . . . When a receiving team player is out of position on the serve and:
a. The ball is served illegally, the serving team is penalized;
PENALTIES:
1. For an illegal serve, a service fault, or the receiving team being out of position when there is an illegal serve, loss of rally/point is awarded to the receiving team.


Thus, only the serving team's fault is penalized due to the illegal serve.

From page 28 of the 2009-10 NFHS Volleyball Rules.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 19, 2010, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Jan - the OP notes that the server was in the correct spot on the lineup, but the infraction was among other players on the serving team.

The rule you cited does not include this situation.

I side with Bob that this is a simultaneous foul by both teams at the same instant and a replay is in order.

I'm open to being convinced otherwise.....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 19, 2010, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
I side with Bob that this is a simultaneous foul by both teams at the same instant and a replay is in order.
This could be a minor point, but I think you would be arguing that this is a double foul. Simultaneous fouls are more than one foul committed by the same team at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2010, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 616
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
I'll play devil's advocate:

"Out of serving order" doesn't necessarily mean, to me, "illegal alignment." I can easily read that as "wrong server." A muddled interpretation of that phrase could certainly change one's view on how the penalty should be applied. Had they meant that the serving team had to be aligned correctly, they certainly could have indicated that. But...they didn't.

Correct server. Team A is overlapped at the legal contact of serve. Team B is overlapped at the legal contact of serve. The "serving order" was correct, in that we indeed had the correct server, so...replay could be a conceivable option.

Another example of less than clear wording.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 23, 2010, 01:21pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
This humble one will attempt to correct his previous error as learned colleagues have shown that "I blew it big time!!!!"

Quote:
I should have cited Rule 6:
ART. 3 . . .At the moment of serve:
b. All players, including the libero, shall be in correct serving order.
PENALTIES:
1. For illegal alignment, loss of rally/point is awarded to the opponent for:
a. Overlapping by players other than the server at the moment a legal serve occurs;
Quote:
and then Rule 8-2:
PENALTIES:
2. For the receiving team being out of position when there is a service fault, a point is awarded to the serving team.
To make it short and sweet...as Bob so astutely pointed out in his post, this is a double foul = replay.

I continue to learn from the great store of knowledge and wisdom of most learned colleagues!
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penalty or not????? Illini_Ref Football 39 Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:48pm
Free Kick Alignment for Officials (NFHS 5 Man Crew) buckrog64 Football 3 Tue Sep 04, 2007 09:34pm
What is the penalty? Dentonump Baseball 7 Fri Apr 13, 2007 02:50pm
Difficulty reading alignment violations officialtony Volleyball 7 Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:00pm
New free throw alignment and 1! MOFFICIAL Basketball 14 Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1