The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member

Identifying illegal back row attacks

I don't know if you VB vets have a good way to identify illegal back row player attacks......but if you do, would you share your tips?
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member

Not sure i am a vet....but I have two things I do.

1) I find a "key" player to remember either a hard hitter or the setter then you get a feel for who is to their right and left and you can know where they are on the court.

2) I use the wheel as a line up tool and glancing down I can get back row players in my head quick

So something like this goes through my head, ok 7 is back left I got 7,10,18 as back row....then on the other side 8 is front row so 9, 1 and 12 are my back row......so if they do anything wrong I got them!
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member

I'm hardly a vet yet either, but here's what I do:

Like Dave, I use the wheel, which I think is a fantastic invention. But it's not like you have time to check everybody every serve to see where they are in the rotation.

Mostly, I use it to track my setter and opposite.

I try to keep the numbers of the two who are front row in my head. So if blue's setter is 12 and her opposite is 7, and red's setter is 4 and opposite is 11, then on any given serve I'll note that 12 is back row, and 11 is back row. So I'm saying to myself, "7, 4. 7, 4. 7, 4."

It's really not all that useful to me when I'm R2. But it's good practice for me for when I'm R1. I don't have my wheel when I'm up, but I identify setter and opposite. Each serve I find my setter and opposite, and remember the numbers of the front row players. Then with each hit, I try to identify "front" or "back", saying the word in my mind.