![]() |
|
|
|||
1 out of 2!
As refnrev indicated,
1. is a dead ball. A served ball cannot touch anything other than the top of the net on its way to the opponent's court. Your partner blew this one - it was dead on contact with the rolled-up curtain. 2. If you are CERTAIN that the ball did not contact anything in threading its way over the curtain and its supports, it is a legal serve and play-on.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
|
|||
Quote:
I wouldn't call something based on what I think might have happened.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee Last edited by FMadera; Thu Mar 08, 2007 at 10:03am. |
|
|||
We have a HS gym around here that has one of those NBA type score boards that hang from the ceiling at mid-court.
On a couple of occasions last season a high lofting pass over the net has traveled between the roof and the top of the scoreboard and did not hit anything on the way (based on the trajectory, speed and angle of the ball when it "reappeared" on the other side of the net). Both time this happened as the result of a player chasing the ball that is heading out of bounds past the end line after the second hit and is returned by the player with her back to the net. |
|
|||
[QUOTE=FMadera]My own spin...unless you are CERTAIN the ball DID NOT contact anything, play on.
___________________________________ Are you sure this is what you wanted to say? ![]()
__________________
![]() |
|
|||
Oops, yeah, momentary brain death. I've edited appropriately.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
Ball hits ceiling over court. | Jerry Blum | Basketball | 7 | Fri Feb 17, 2006 03:21pm |
Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |