The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2018, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 19
Double hit or play on

Ball comes from back row Team A just over net to Team B.
Big middle for Team B mistimes her jump and jumps too early to smack it back down.
The ball is above the net; On her way down she tries to swipe at the ball but it tips up into the air, falls straight down and she bumps it to the setter.
Is that a block? and the second touch is actually the first touch and the team still has 2 more touches?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2018, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 45
Based on your description, it sounds like she touches the ball 3 times. 1) Mistimed block 2) Swipe at the ball which she tips up 3) On the ball coming back down from her swipe, she bumps it to the setter. Assuming this is what you meant, a few comments. The first is was the players first touch of the ball a block or an attack? If it was a block, the height of the ball doesn't matter. What matters is did the player have some part of the body (typically the hands) above the height of the net? If not, this should have been the first contact. Assuming she did block the ball first, all contact with the ball on one attempt to block would be considered a block. The fact that she "swiped" at the ball in an upward motion is in my opinion a separate attempt to play the ball. Since she touched the ball on the "swipe" that would have been her first contact. The bump pass to the setter would have been her second and a double contact fault should have been called.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2018, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 19
No no no, Tony, it's the same thing we see all the time. The ball is passed off serve/receive over the net for the middle to HAMMER the ball. But the MH mistimes, touches the ball above the net the next contact is pass to setter. Only 2 touches.
The official called it a double hit. I thought, why wouldn't that be a block and 1st touch?
This is a good one to interp IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 20, 2018, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 86
Arrow

From what you described, the player's hands and the ball are completely above the net. There are two possible scenarios:

1. The player is in a blocking motion with any part of the body above the net, it's a block. If the player immediately digs the ball, the dig is the first contact. Legal. Play on.

2. The player is trying to "hammer" down (attack, not block) the overpass, but only slightly touches the ball. If that same player digs it, the dig is the second contact. Illegal. Multiple contacts. Point to team that over-passed it.

Last edited by timasdf; Tue Oct 23, 2018 at 04:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2018, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
To steal a saying from the old NFHS Forum days...

"If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck..."

A big swing likely isn't a block, so it would be first contact, followed by second contact by the same player.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2018, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 19
Thanks for the feedback. It wasnt a big swing. She wanted to. It was as big as a beach ball. But being a youngster she mistimed it badly, knew she mistimed it, tipped it on her way down (ball above the net) and then passed the ball to Setter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double play? JeremyGrey Baseball 17 Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:45pm
Double Play Mass Ump Softball 17 Wed Oct 28, 2009 02:42pm
Double play at first mydingding77 Softball 15 Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:49am
double play..or not coach2535 Baseball 10 Tue May 29, 2007 10:10pm
double play...or is it?? soonerfan Baseball 5 Tue Jun 24, 2003 02:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1