The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2018, 08:21pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,353
Asst. Scorekeeper question

I was Libero Tracker tonight and thought of an odd situation (which did NOT happen in my game) and was wondering how it would be handled.

I use NCAA-W rules and scoresheets. So on the tracker sheet, the first time a player serves in each rotation, we make a tally mark in the "Service" box. Suppose Team A rotates after winning a rally, but before the new server legally contacts the serve, a red card is issued to Team A.

The server for Team A never legally contacted the serve, so I'm not supposed to make the tally mark, right? So is there anything else I should do to show that the player "should have" served, but didn't? If not, that line of the tracker sheet will always have one fewer tally marks than it normally should; which just seems like it would make it more difficult to reconstruct the game if it became necessary to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2018, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,735
The (or at least one of) the purpose of teh tally marks is so you can tell who the next server is (as a check against the scorer putting the score on the wrong line) -- so I'd put a tally mark there.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2018, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 580
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I was Libero Tracker tonight and thought of an odd situation (which did NOT happen in my game) and was wondering how it would be handled.

I use NCAA-W rules and scoresheets. So on the tracker sheet, the first time a player serves in each rotation, we make a tally mark in the "Service" box. Suppose Team A rotates after winning a rally, but before the new server legally contacts the serve, a red card is issued to Team A.

The server for Team A never legally contacted the serve, so I'm not supposed to make the tally mark, right? So is there anything else I should do to show that the player "should have" served, but didn't? If not, that line of the tracker sheet will always have one fewer tally marks than it normally should; which just seems like it would make it more difficult to reconstruct the game if it became necessary to do so.
You may be confusing the tally mark on the libero tracking sheet with the tick mark used on the USAV scoresheet. The tally mark is to indicate when that position is to serve; not necessarily that the person in that position has necessarily served.

Put the tally mark in.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2018, 11:44am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
You may be confusing the tally mark on the libero tracking sheet with the tick mark used on the USAV scoresheet. The tally mark is to indicate when that position is to serve; not necessarily that the person in that position has necessarily served.

Put the tally mark in.
If it ever happens in one of my games, I will put the tally mark in. Thank you!

But, for the record, I was not confusing it with the USAV scoresheet, as I didn't even know there was a different sheet for Libero Tracking. Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2018, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 109
I'm confused. Are you saying that you weren't using a libero tracker sheet when you were assistant scorekeeper? What were you using?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 15, 2018, 10:52am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaREF View Post
I'm confused. Are you saying that you weren't using a libero tracker sheet when you were assistant scorekeeper? What were you using?
I was using an NCAA Libero Tracking sheet. Felix suggested that I might have gotten confused by thinking about the USAV Libero Tracking sheet. But I didn't even realize that USAV's sheet was different from the NCAA sheet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scorekeeper here - Alertnating Poss. Arrrow Question grizwald Basketball 12 Tue May 16, 2006 02:02pm
Scorekeeper asks great question refnrev Basketball 4 Wed Jan 25, 2006 01:18pm
Asst. coach technical ctpfive Basketball 1 Thu Jan 19, 2006 05:20pm
Official Scorekeeper Question?? Nate1224hoops Basketball 9 Wed Dec 14, 2005 09:05pm
Dumbest scorekeeper question ever Mark Padgett Basketball 15 Fri Feb 04, 2005 09:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1