The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2018, 09:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,670
Line-Up Error Causes Substitution Issue

Coach A indicates 7 will start on the line up. #8 reports on the court at the beginning of the set. Both #7 and #8 are on the roster.

I know the coach can use a substitute (one of the allowed 18) to have #8 start. So far, so good.

A few rotations into the set, #7 tries to substitute for #24 (a different spot in the lineup). Allowed? Reference?

I couldn't find a case on this in the book.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2018, 06:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
Number 7 cannot sub into a different position. Officially, #7 started in the position now occupied by #8, and can only sub back in to that position.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2018, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavbref View Post
Number 7 cannot sub into a different position. Officially, #7 started in the position now occupied by #8, and can only sub back in to that position.
Thanks. That's how I ruled -- very confusing for the coaches (and, honestly, for me). Is there a case play? Any rule reference other than 10-3-7-c-4 (or is that sufficient)?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2018, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Thanks. That's how I ruled -- very confusing for the coaches (and, honestly, for me). Is there a case play? Any rule reference other than 10-3-7-c-4 (or is that sufficient)?
The only other casebook ruling that is close is 7.1.2-a which covers the original fault--i.e #7 listed on line-up but #8 is on the court. Everything else follows based on the fact that #8 substituted for #7
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2018, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 578
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavbref View Post
The only other casebook ruling that is close is 7.1.2-a which covers the original fault--i.e #7 listed on line-up but #8 is on the court. Everything else follows based on the fact that #8 substituted for #7
Correct. We aren't, by rule, "correcting" or "fixing" their lineup error; all we're doing is facilitating a substitution, 8 for 7. 7 is still in that position for the duration of the set, just like any non-exceptional substitution.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Substitution issue Sapper33 Basketball 15 Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:10pm
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
Correctable error with substitution tjchamp Basketball 8 Thu Jan 18, 2007 06:26pm
Substitution issue. JRutledge Football 23 Wed Sep 21, 2005 07:55pm
Substitution Error red Basketball 4 Mon Dec 15, 2003 01:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1