| 
				
				Over the Net Violations
			 
 
			
			I had a coach ask me about this last night, and I want to be sure I gave him the correct answer.
 Is it a true statement that whenever the ball is in the plane of the net, that both teams can play the ball (ignoring on a serve, back row players, etc)?  Even if team A's setter is trying to save an over-pass for the second hit, team B's blocker can block the ball?
 
 I'm also a little confused by rule 9-6-3 "A player shall not contact a ball which (sic) is completely on the opponent's side of the net unless the contact is a legal block."  IS this trying to distinguish "block" from "attack" or are the only criteria the ones listed in 9-6-4 (three hits, ball directed toward opponent's side, no one in position to make a play)?
 
 Thanks,
 |