Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I had a coach ask me about this last night, and I want to be sure I gave him the correct answer.
Is it a true statement that whenever the ball is in the plane of the net, that both teams can play the ball (ignoring on a serve, back row players, etc)? Even if team A's setter is trying to save an over-pass for the second hit, team B's blocker can block the ball?
|
Yes.
Quote:
I'm also a little confused by rule 9-6-3 "A player shall not contact a ball which (sic) is completely on the opponent's side of the net unless the contact is a legal block." IS this trying to distinguish "block" from "attack" or are the only criteria the ones listed in 9-6-4 (three hits, ball directed toward opponent's side, no one in position to make a play)?
|
Both. It distinguishes block vs. attack, while also taking into account the other criteria you listed.
For example, you can often have reaching over on balls attacked on the opponent's side of the net that would have been legal plays had they been blocked. Or balls legally blocked that would have been illegal had someone been in the area to play the ball.