The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,270
Test Question 6

When is unnecessary delay charged to a team?

* A. A substitution is delayed.
* B. A team requests its 19th substitution.
* C. The libero replacement takes place as the R1 extends arm to beckon for serve.
* D. All of the above.

I think A and B are UD (leading to answer D), but I don't think C is UD.

Is C UD? If so, what's the reference? (and I hope it isn't a case play because I still don't have the case book).

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 137
As I see it, Bob, this is another poorly worded question. A libero replacement, which takes place as the R1 extends his/her arm to beckon for the serve is not necessarily illegal by rule. We must assume that the libero replacement mentioned in option "C" is illegal for some other reason. The rule reference is 10-4-1f plus PENALTY 1. You are correct that options "A" and "B" also result in UD.

EDIT: I suppose you could interpret 10-4-1f to mean that the libero replacement must take place before the R1 even extends his/her arm for the serve, without sounding the whistle or completing the signal with a sweeping motion toward the opposite shoulder. I know too many R1s in my area who extend their arm and then leave it there for several seconds before completing the mechanic.

Last edited by bbsbvb83; Tue Aug 23, 2016 at 10:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2016, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbsbvb83 View Post
As I see it, Bob, this is another poorly worded question. A libero replacement, which takes place as the R1 extends his/her arm to beckon for the serve is not necessarily illegal by rule. We must assume that the libero replacement mentioned in option "C" is illegal for some other reason. The rule reference is 10-4-1f plus PENALTY 1. You are correct that options "A" and "B" also result in UD.

EDIT: I suppose you could interpret 10-4-1f to mean that the libero replacement must take place before the R1 even extends his/her arm for the serve, without sounding the whistle or completing the signal with a sweeping motion toward the opposite shoulder. I know too many R1s in my area who extend their arm and then leave it there for several seconds before completing the mechanic.
Thanks. Answer D was correct.

I didn't get any of the others I asked about on my test (we get 25 on the test from the pool of 110 this year)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA test question CecilOne Softball 27 Mon Apr 18, 2016 08:32pm
07-08 Test Question flaref0812 Basketball 14 Mon Oct 29, 2007 06:53pm
Test Question cford Basketball 18 Thu Nov 11, 2004 08:00pm
Test Question #40 golfdesigner Basketball 24 Wed Oct 20, 2004 07:47am
Test Question #29 garote Basketball 1 Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1